Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I just started making hot pepper jelly this year, after several requests for it at our farmers markets. Lucky for me, I had a huge abundance of hot peppers with which to do so. This jelly is great, because you don't have to strain the peppers out of it, and it is sweet and spicy. Great when served with cream cheese on crackers. It's a must, and I am making as much as I can while I have the produce. Definitely the best recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
this is a favorite on cream cheese with crackers or bake on chicken/pork to prevent foam: 1 teaspoon of butter, margarine or vegetable oil, added before you heat the mixture will almost eliminate it. On the downside, some food scientists worry that the small amount of butter could cause the batch to spoil sooner. I suspect this particular group of scientists probably still live at home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dickyB
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I threw in a ghost chili for fun and it makes the burn last a little longer. I put it over cream cheese and serve with ritz crackers, or make PB&J sandwiches and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delicious! Gave it as Christmas gifts to family and friends and everyone raved about it. Especially good with crackers and cheese. Meat-eating friends also liked it on roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe is wonderful and full of flavor and vibrant color. I had a can of roasted red bell peppers, so I tried subbing them for the raw in the recipe, the second time I made this jelly, and it was wonderful. I also tend to gently shake the jars as they cool so that the mixure combines as it sets, rather than let the solid parts float, I prefer the even distribution to the floating effect. I give these every year at Christmas along with a jar of Strawberry Preserves (also found on this website) and everyone loves it. This year I made it a little hotter than usual and got rave reviews from all my family, so I will not skimp on the habanero any more. Try it over cream cheese with crackers, a distinct crowd pleaser at parties, and very pretty when displayed on a platter nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was great!! So good on cream cheese with crackers, also great with pork. The only thing I would change would be to make more. Everyone loved it so much I'm down to my last jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bancroft, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
so easy, fast buitiful color and great flavor, use on fish and pork thanks made 60 jars,christmas presents for everyone thanks Rusty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Excellent pepper jelly but mine turned out way too thick. This was my first jelly attempt so i need to do some research on how to fix that. I only used 12 habeneros instead of all 15 and it is plenty hot for me. Gloves are a must and I think I will use a nose/mouth mask as well as some eye gear, I was hurtin' while seedin' those things! Definitely will try again for the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was my first time canning and I was very nervous about it. This recipe was fantastic and turned out great! I had a random mix of peppers from a local farm (from mild to hot). I left out the red bell and used mostly aji dulces, with some habaneros, and serranos and got a nice medium heat. the carrots add a little sweetness and lots of color, but otherwise i didn't really taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I just made this jelly. It looks so pretty in the jars. I followed the recipe other than using yellow pepper and red pepper. We dipped toast into some after cooking it and it's delicious! I'm going to make turkey meatballs for a party and use this jelly as a glaze. I'll be making this every year to use up some of my habanero crop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States