Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe and, by accident, found a new twist. My husband planted habanero and Jalapeno, so I had to mix them to get the numbers for the recipe. They were also green (could not wait to get them red). And in the end, I came to realize I did not have liquid pectin, so I used powder and I was short of the amount (or did not convert properly). So I had a very tasty result, where the hot peppers caramelized. But it did not set with the consistency of a jelly -- Instead of redoing or thickening (because I had already sealed the jars), I tried this recipe as "habanero/jalapeno/ sweet pepper DRESSING", and warmed it up a little and coated my green leaves salad with some pear and walnuts. It was so addictive I am using the batch as a dressing and I thicken it a bit with cream cheese or other similar creamy type of cheese to eat with crackers. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Today I got all the correct ingredients and will make it a true jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great recipe, easy to make. It was our first attempt at a jelly. I was hoping for something with more heat (it's more of a mild tingle), so next time I'll throw in a LOT more habanero seeds, maybe a little more red pepper for colour, and a bit less sugar. And more habanero seeds. Really. More.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Wow-- I love this stuff. Just the right amount of hot. This was my first canning experience, and everything went perfectly. Just follow the directions and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is very good. A local farm stands sells pepper jam and it is expensive. This is so good and will be great over brie. You can also add it to sauces to give the sauce an extra kick. It is also very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is a great tasting jelly! For a half recipe I used 8 habaneros. It's perfect, not too hot and not too mild. Yum yum yum! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Thanks, was looking for a recipe that would be good for holiday gifts for those who are looking for something with heat...got everything ready to make and found only had one pouch of liquid pectin. After much research I decided I would go with the powdered, used 8 TBS of the Ball brand that comes loose in a bottle, those who said they used powdered never said when they put it in. I decided I would use it like I do with other jam recipes & put it along with the carrots, both peppers and vinegar at the beginning, brought to a boil and cooked for 5 minutes. Added the sugar, brought back up to a rolling boil to cook for another minute then put in jars and water bath. It was thick when going into the jars. Got 6- 1/2 pint jars of very pretty jam. Think this will be a hit as it wasn't real hot eating but it sure leaves your mouth, or at least mine, tingling afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I just finished making this recipe. I was so disappointed because it turned out to be way too hot. I don't think we can eat it but I will make another batch and cut down on the habaneros. I think this recipe should be revised and reposted. The flavor is good but I just wasted a whole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Good recipe. I cut it in half just since I haven't made it before and it yielded three 1/2 pint jars. I tasted it right after I made it and it was good. So far it hasn't cooled enough for me to be able to tell if it set up but if it didn't it was just an error on my part during cooking. I really like hot jellies with salmon and cream cheese on toast and this one will be great that way. I left some of the seeds in because I like really hot stuff and for me it could use a little more heat but for my family it should be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Talk about vinegar......too much of a vinegar taste for me. Can't get past that bitterness. The spice of the peppers helps but I know I won't be making this recipe again. Also, I only got 6 1/2 jars. The search goes on for another recipe...sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Amazing use of my homegrown habaneros. Great over a block of cream cheese with Ritz. A neighborhood favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States