Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Made this for some of my friends who love spicy things. they couldn't get enough of it! started dipping everything in it from their chicken to pizza to chips to popcorn and even in their sandwiches! it was a total hit! i reduced my sugar to 5 cups instead of the 6 1/2 cups but it came out to have the perfect amount of sweetness. REMEMBER to wear gloves while cutting the habanero. i made the mistake of not because i didn't have any and my hands were burning painfully for the next 3 days. definitely learned my lesson there. other than that, i will definitely be doing this again! ;) happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a great one! Every one loves it! I gave it out for Christmas gifts last year and everyone wants it! I even grew my own Habaneros to make a bunch! I was running into the pectin problem I used the 2 pouches like called for, I thought it was too hard, When I make it again I will use one and a half pouches instead, for some more color I am use a green pepper in it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Awesome.....easy and delicious. I also add the zest of a lemon. Don't know if it adds flavor but looks good. Everyone that tries it wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Fantastic and easy to make. Hot and sweet! Great with cream cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Excellent - I was worried about the heat but it is perfect! I got 8- 8oz(half-pint) jars. Not sure why some folks were only getting 6 half pints but,if it helps, I minced my red peppers in a cuisinart, finely shredded the carrots with a planer and packed each lightly into the measuring cup to measure. If you chopped yours more coarsely or didn't pack them you may have lost "bulk" in your batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very very easy recipe for someone who has limited experience with making jellies. Definitely wear gloves when cutting the Habaneras - might even want to wear glasses of some type to protect your eyes. Final flavor has a warm punch and pulls out the best in the Habanera - tastes terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Wonderful idea to use carrot. The finished product looks and tastes great. I used my food processor with chopping blade to chop 11 hot peppers, seeds and all, then placed on a fine shredding blade to shred 1 carrot and 1 red pepper. I put that in a pot with 1 cup of white vinegar and 1.25 cups crab apple juice (instead of the pectin) and the sugar. After boiling for approximately 10 minutes it was thickened enough and then I processed it for 5 minutes. I check for thickening by dipping a fork in and when it starts to stick between about half of the tines and look a little bit syrupy I call it done. I like using the apple pectin from crab apples that I harvest because it avoids using liquid pectin and I think it tastes better. This modification left some vinegar but not enough to leave a vinegar taste as Steve noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
halved the recipe...used same amount of carrots for texture...looks good about to taste it on some cream cheese and crackers...awesum...and will get better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe and, by accident, found a new twist. My husband planted habanero and Jalapeno, so I had to mix them to get the numbers for the recipe. They were also green (could not wait to get them red). And in the end, I came to realize I did not have liquid pectin, so I used powder and I was short of the amount (or did not convert properly). So I had a very tasty result, where the hot peppers caramelized. But it did not set with the consistency of a jelly -- Instead of redoing or thickening (because I had already sealed the jars), I tried this recipe as "habanero/jalapeno/ sweet pepper DRESSING", and warmed it up a little and coated my green leaves salad with some pear and walnuts. It was so addictive I am using the batch as a dressing and I thicken it a bit with cream cheese or other similar creamy type of cheese to eat with crackers. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Today I got all the correct ingredients and will make it a true jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great recipe, easy to make. It was our first attempt at a jelly. I was hoping for something with more heat (it's more of a mild tingle), so next time I'll throw in a LOT more habanero seeds, maybe a little more red pepper for colour, and a bit less sugar. And more habanero seeds. Really. More.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States