Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is wonderful! I was looking for a way to use up our Habeneros from our garden and I made a small test batch of this. I wish I would have made more! While the carrots scared my bf, they ended up being perfect. They added great color and needed texture. This is very sweet with a lot of warmth it in. It's perfect! Everyone that has tasted it, loves it. My bf has eaten it on crackers, on sandwiches and even added it to some chili I made. It's so good! Now we are eagerly waiting for the current harvest of habeneros to get ripe so I can make a large batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
We had bags of habaneros from the garden, and this was a great way to make use of them. The recipe came together very easily--though you may want to make sure you have plenty of ventilation when you de-seed the peppers. The taste and texture of the jelly is very good. Like others, I had concerns about the carrots, but they do blend well. There is a strong vinegar scent to the finished jelly that I find off-putting. When I make a second batch, I'll cut the vinegar with a little water or use apple cider instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I cannot imagine a Hot pepper jelly being any better! Look no futher!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tragik T
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Awesome...I made this in October (picture posted by me) and I opened a jar on Christmas eve and it was a hit. Great with brie... and pretty much anything creamy. Try procuitto(sp?) wrapped pears with blue cheese, and a dollop of jelly. Also I made this into a salad dressing using a spoonful of jelly, olive oil, salt, lemon, & vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tragik T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I'm not a big fan of hot peppers, but my friend made this and it was to die for! Try it on crackers w/ cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I am giving this a 5 star because I think I did something wrong that was no fault of the recipe. I am new at making any kind of jam with my concentration being on pepper jams. I did not notice the recipe called for LIQUID pectin so I accidently added the stated amount in powder. My jam has not set up like others I have made. Can someone tell me if it had to do with using powder instead of liquid or is this particular jam more of a honey consistency? I haven't tried any yet because I keep hoping it will set up however it has been about a month and hasn't. Should I just toss and make again using liquid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. The best way we've found to use up all of our habaneros. This was our first jelly and canning experience. Just follow the directions and you won't be sorry. The perfect balance of heat and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I have never made jelly so I was very nervious but it turned out great! I plan on making it again for Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Followed the recipe as written and it came out delicious...hot but tasty. My boyfriend LOVES it. This will make good holiday gifts for our friends that like hot and spicy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This stuff is awesome. It turned out great and it is the first time I have ever made a jelly. It kicks you right in the taste buds for sure and is definitely addictive. Great with cream cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States