Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Talk about vinegar......too much of a vinegar taste for me. Can't get past that bitterness. The spice of the peppers helps but I know I won't be making this recipe again. Also, I only got 6 1/2 jars. The search goes on for another recipe...sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Amazing use of my homegrown habaneros. Great over a block of cream cheese with Ritz. A neighborhood favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great recipe. It's a hot that creeps up on you but never makes it to the top. The sweetness, prevents the heat from reaching critical and gives it just the right amount. Habanero's a the PERFECT pepper for this type of jam. Makes for a great glaze or dipping sauce. I've tested it on EVERYTHING. Burgers, Chicken, Tacos and even pizza. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is excellent.The carrot ads to this greatly. I made the mistake of sharing with friends and my jars are all over town.Next year I'm charging for them...LOL. Perfect with whole wheat crackers and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Killbuck, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've never made jelly before and I'm a beginning canner, but this recipe was super user friendly. I haven't tried the jam yet, but it's very visually beautiful and smells delicious, so I can't wait to try other reviewers suggestions of eating this on soft cheeses, as a marinade, or even on PB&J! The only thing I think I would do differently next time is use the liquid pectin--I tried the powdered kind and simply made it "liquid" by preparing a package of the pectin with the Quick method--i.e. boiling it for 1 minute with 3/4 cup water and then stirring it in the jelly mix. The jelly turned out really thin, almost like a jarred sweet chili sauce like you'd find in Asian cooking. I'm not sure if it will set up more or if I'm just stuck with a thick suryp instead, but I will either try to add more powdered pectin next time or use the liquid (which I was having trouble finding at the grocery store). In any case, this is inexperience on my part, not problems with the recipe. I agree with other users that it made less than stated--I also made the mistake of using larger jars so this recipe only filled one big jar and then one small one. Sad--I was hoping to have a lot more, but again, I'll make adjustments next time. The color is gorgeous--I found it helpful to rough chop the carrot shreds, red pepper and the habaneros in my food processor--much for uniform pieces that were more conducive to jelly. The carrots are a must--the finished jelly is a bright, reddish orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oboegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The recipe is easy to follow and makes a beautiful batch of molten lava jelly. It has layers to it, sweet, sour, hot and nice texture from the carrots. I decided to try this recipe because of all the habanero peppers I had this year from my garden and it is a nice pepper jelly. I cut the habaneros in half this time because I'm not into super hot jelly and next time I make it I'll cut down even more. All in all, if you like hot and spicy with a nice depth of flavors then you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is an amazing jelly! My sister made it two years ago, I made it last year, and this year I had to double my habarnero plants to keep up with the demand of the rest of the family! Making jelly is HARD, but this recipe gives great, clear directions. This year, I bought a Ball Utensil Set for Preserving, which is a God-send. I used a food processor for the peppers and carrots to make life easier, but otherwise have never deviated from the recipe. Serve it over brie or goat cheese, and it's a fabulous appetizer. Or do what my sister-in-law does, and make it your favorite condiment for sandwiches! Regardless, you'll love it, and you'll find yourself trying to figure out who is "jelly-worthy", because this jelly goes fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I loved this! I added alot more habaneros-maybe 20-25? Everything worked perfectly. I wore gloves and sunglasses while chopping and was glad I did. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I just started making hot pepper jelly this year, after several requests for it at our farmers markets. Lucky for me, I had a huge abundance of hot peppers with which to do so. This jelly is great, because you don't have to strain the peppers out of it, and it is sweet and spicy. Great when served with cream cheese on crackers. It's a must, and I am making as much as I can while I have the produce. Definitely the best recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
this is a favorite on cream cheese with crackers or bake on chicken/pork to prevent foam: 1 teaspoon of butter, margarine or vegetable oil, added before you heat the mixture will almost eliminate it. On the downside, some food scientists worry that the small amount of butter could cause the batch to spoil sooner. I suspect this particular group of scientists probably still live at home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States