Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBennillers
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Just my opinion, but I feel like less pectin would have been better. The way it set up reminds me of jello and isn't very easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very easy, maybe too much pectin by 1-2 tbl. Everything from my garden. I made it 2 ways, all green jalapenos and a small green pepper, keeping more then half of the seeds and stems, nice heat with the sweet. Then I did it with red jalapeno peppers and a red poblano, very few seeds and stems = no heat. My plan is for Xmas gifts, green and red bagged together. Hot and mild. I will serve both colors together with a small sign stating the heat level. How nice that will look at the Holidays, huh? It made 13 half quart (4oz) jars, with about 1/4 cup into my fridge for tasting now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
just made this and it is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Awesome easy recipe to follow. We've made it with many different peppers from our garden like Devils Tongue, Scotch Bonnet, Cherry Bomb and Ghost Peppers. We have it down to a fine art now!! We like to spread a little Philly Cream Cheese on our favourite cracker and top it with a nice big dab of the jelly! Yum! Highly addictive!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
we really like this recipe but mixed up the peppers, 10-12 habanero and 3-5 jalepeno so it wasn't quite so hot. Also mixed up the colors of peppers and must say it turned out quite pretty. makes for very nice Xmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I've been on a canning jag lately and pepper jelly has been my focus. This recipe is BRILLIANT! I prepared it exactly as written, and it came out absolutely perfect (which is a welcome change to a number of recipes ive tried having to be reprocessed, etc). The jam set up as soon as it cooled! Perfect texture, the carrots added a beautiful touch of texture. The jars look like art, absolutely gorgeous color and will make a beautiful gift. The heat is perfect. I like it hot, and this does not disappoint, but it's still edible and tasty, sweet and hot, it is truly a perfect recipe and will be in my regular rotation! Eternal thanks to the author/poster for this one, I am absolutely thrilled, and THANKS YOU for specifying EXACTLY what size and type of pectin used!! So many recipes state "one package if pectin"...well, what is that...an envelope? A box of 2? A jar of powder? Powdered or liquid? Ugh...this recipe was a very welcome change to all that, and it made EXACTLY 8 8oz jars! Note
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I used green bell pepper and about 12 longhorn peppers because those are what I had from my garden. The carrots seem to add nice texture. I have never canned anything before, and I used a hot water bath. I watched some tutorials on youtube first. I was really nervous, but it was way easier than I thought. If you are considering doing this, you probably have more skills in the kitchen than you are giving yourself credit! The jelly is pretty sweet--I may consider adding less sugar and more peppers next time. I also used 4 oz jars instead and ended up with 12 full jars with a little bit left over. With a fresh baguette and some goat cheese, it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made this but didn't use enough pectin for it to set up like a jelly. I plan to use it as a marinade and for basting meat on the BBQ. I think it will be fantastic on wild game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Followed this recipe to a T and it turned out perfect! Wear gloves when handling the habaneros. This recipe is perfect and this jam is delish, on a bagel with cream cheese or just on crackers. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States