Habanero Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
The recipe has 2 measurements backwards: 1. Carrots should be 1 Cup (not 1 tablespoon) 2. Water should be 1 Tablespoon - give or take (not 1 Cup) That should help out considerably. Add Habaneros as desired!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I have made this recipe a few times and its a big hit at dinner parties. I make the "Tex Mex Pork" from Allrecipes and put the shredded pork in its sauce over pasta and add the "Habanero Hot Sauce" with sour cream as a condiment and everyone loves the combination! The only modification I make to this recipe is I cut open my habanero and remove the seeds and stem. My husband and I love hot food, but we managed to ruin a different recipe when we added whole habaneros because it was so hot that we couldn't eat the stew we had slaved over for an entire afternoon. I opt to put my habaneros in a pyrex and steam the habaneros in a double boiler for about 7 minutes. I think this mellows out the hotness of the sauce without losing any flavor. I add everything to a food processor minus the tomato and it makes a delicious fairly spicy sauce that pleases the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This Recipe is *Da Best*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I really hoped that I'd like this, but I honestly did not enjoy this at all. It was definitely hot enough, but I agree that the tomato flavor was just too much, and I think it really needed some seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Delilah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is a delicious sauce. I only had half the amount of vinegar it calls for, but it turned out awesome anyway. I can't wait to make it with the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I don't like the taste of this on it's own so much, but it's excellent mixed with food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
The sauce was too watery and I was overwelmed with tomatoe flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msyoung

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I had an abundance of Habanero peppers from my garden this year. I was looking for another use for them besides in my chilly. The recipe was easy to make and the taste was hot but not too spicy. I would suggest that you prepare this recipe in a well ventilated kitchen. While onions may make you cry, the effect of the Habanero fumes feels like mace. My wife, in the other end of the house, said she felt her eyes burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I liked this, my son said it wasn't hot enough! I love the fact that I didn't have to wear gloves to handle the peppers, but instead put the whole peppers right into the blender! Now I just have to figure out the best method to store this! On second thought, it might not last long enough for that to be a concern!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Ive been eating a belizian hot sauce for years and finaly decided to try making it myself. This recipe came pretty close, though i must say, i used 4 peopers and it was so hot i couldnt't' eat it so i doubled the other ingredients and decreased the overall pepper to other ingredient ratio. Now its perfect. I would reccomend starting with two peppers an increasing as you go by taste and to pur preference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States