Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
If you like your chili hot this is the one! I made this chili for some guys and everybody loved it. I definitely will make this again.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
hellfire is right! die-hard chili eaters only! this one packs a punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Very good - I cut back on the amount of peppers for a milder version but would recomend it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was short by half the Anaheim peppers called for, but otherwise followed the ingredients exactly. I pureed the tomatoes and peppers for a smooth chili, and the texture turned out just perfect. I like very hot food, but this was a little too hot for even me! Husband loved it as is, but he's obviously insane. The proportions and flavor are perfect as-is, my only change will be to lose about half the peppers and see if I can eat more than a few bites next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
EXCELLENT! I only used 3 habanero, 3 seranno (in place of the anaheim, which I could not find) and 6 jalapeno. It was not too spicy. A little kick, but that was all. So, so tasty, I think it's the bacon that makes this dish... Next time, and there will be a next time!, I'll use the full amount of habaneros and try to find anaheim chilis.. Serve with yummy crusty french bread for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I have made this recipe twice now and get rave reviews from our guests everytime. Depending on who is going to be eating the chili, I adjust the amount of peppers to regulate the hottness. This makes great chili leftovers as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe that is flexible enough for tweaking. I won a very close 3rd place at a chile cook-off with a slight variation on this recipe. The heat from the peppers comes on slowly and fills the whole mouth, instead of burning a part of your tongue until you're in tears. I used diced pork instead of ground (a great contrast in texture). Also, I couldn't find Anaheims, so I threw in a couple of serranos and a can of chipotles with the adobo sauce. It was just a fantastic chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Super Chili! Great taste with a punch! Only put 4 Habaneros and substituted tabasco sauce for the Anaheims. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
loved this. you must really like really hot food to like this. my boyfriend LOVED it too. i couldn't find habaneros so i just added extras of the other peppers. everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I love this recipe. I entered a chili contest and won 2nd place, not bad. Adding the best beer possible, gave it a unique flavor that everyone was trying to figure out what it was. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States