Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My wife usually makes chili, however I impressed upon the fact that chili needs to stay true to its namesake! And this recipe does just that! It was amaaaaazing! Definitely not as spicy as I thought it would be, seeing it took me a solid hour and a half to chop all the chilies. But well worth it. WOW. This is the only chili my family will be eating going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a great chili. My boyfriend and I cooked it in a slow cooker instead which reduced the intensity of the habanero (to our dismay). We cooked up the bacon, and then cooked the ground meat in some of the bacon grease. Then we threw in all the ingredients (including the juices) and then placed them all but adding the bacon in the last half hour of cooking. We did halve the anaheim and ommitted the bell pepper. For our personal taste, and from some of the pictures it seemed like too much green pepper for us. We also kept the seeds to keep some of the kick but it still wasn't enough for us. We prefer it more spicy and the slow cooker seems to reduce the spicyness so we may add more habanero to ours in order to maintain that spice. Overall, the recipe is delicious and I will gladly make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
i added some a1 for taste....gives it a nice kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
this was the kickin' chili I was looking for. It had that "please can I have some more" appeal to it, served with cheese toast--perfect, my family at the whole crockpot full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
If you love hot spicy chilli this is it!!! People Love this chili..Keep coming back for mmore..This chilli is great and really flavorful. I recommend highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlopeztx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Fantastic chili. Although next time I would use diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and leave some of the seeds in the habanero chiles. Maybe 2 for starters. Loved it and definatly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great tasting, but extremely too hot for me. my g/f loves it, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe. Although, even though I love bacon, I don't see the need for it in this recipe. I did add a bit of corn which was nice. Carrots and/or celery would also work nicely in this recipe, so I may do that next time. Also, I made this in a crock pot (browned the meat first) and therefore did not add the water. I felt the consistency was perfect when done this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This Chili has amazing flavor. I alternated it only slightly to use up the tomato products that I had in the pantry. I used three cans diced tomatoes, one full 6 oz can tomato paste and two cans of tomato sauce instead of what the recipe had. Before I mixed the fresh vegetables in with everything else, I cooked them over a medium heat for about five minutes in some of the fat left over from the meats. For people like me who can't handle a lot of heat, this chili is extremely hot, but my boyfriend loves it. I can't resist the wonderful flavors made by the mix of meat and peppers, so to cool it down for me I mix in a bit of corn and top it with sour cream. It took first place in the company chili cookoff. Thank you Edd for a great chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was a great spicy chili. I topped mine with onions and cheese. I didn't put the beer in and used three pounds ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States