Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This chili retired my usual recipe at our annual chili challenge. This chili has a nice balance of heat and flavor. The only change I made was only three Anaheim Peppers. The reason being they were massive and didn't look like ones on the net (I don't think they were Anaheims). For those that like it even hotter, I set aside 1/3 of the chili and added 1 Ghost Pepper (Bhutt Jolokia) to the batch. It went over very well. Probably the best chili I ever had, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strasburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great chili! HOT HOT HOT!!! Make it as- is to win the hairy biker chili cookoff or tone it down by using 1 habanero, 2 jalapeno (1red, 1green), and only 3/4 tablespoon red pepper to let the whole family enjoy. Still pretty spicy though. I also substituted ground pork with double beef and 3/4 lb bacon-yummy. Definitely stick with the anaheim peppers and chili paste (find it in asian section of supermarket)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Turned out a little sweet for my taste and not as hot as I prefer. But other then those easy fixes I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
VERY VERY SPICY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Just made this, and it's great. Wish there was more spice though. I made a double batch, only seeded half of the habaneros, and even added some Dave's Insanity Sauce, but it wasn't enough for me. I substituted Sriracha for the chili paste, cuz I couldn't find it anywhere. The bacon is truly a must-have ingredient. It really adds something unique to the dish. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
WHEW!!! Eyes watered, nose ran, face turned red, started to sweat, and a gallon of milk. Yeah baby...now THIS is chili. Do not change a thing, this is the perfect recipe. You can reduce the peppers if you don't want it as hot, it would still be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyteshayde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This chili is awesome!!! I only made 2 slight changes--left out the bacon because I didn't have any, and reduced the amount of peppers by half, and the spice was perfect! Other than that made as written. It is the best chili I've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe had excellent flavor, but I may have had poor habenero peppers. It didn't have the heat that we were looking for. I made it for a football party, and everybody loved it...it just needed a little more spice. Next time I will use a few more habenero peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I know some people dislike when people tell about the variations they made; I personally find it very useful. I kept all the basics, but I was lacking some items. I had no pork; I used a whole pound of bacon and I cubed 12 oz of beef tenderloin steak. I added a dash of nutmeg, cardamom and tiny bit of cinnamon. Also 3 bay leaves. I think lime and beer go together, so I added 1/4 of a lime. The spices gave some sweetness, and lime just added a sassy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I had never made chili before. This was an easy recipe to follow. I think next time I make it I will not seed some of the peppers as I think it could be hotter for my taste. Overall nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States