Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I added a touch of brown sugar and honey to make it a "sweet heat". Had no luck finding habenero's in the chain grocery store so substituted more jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I love this recipe! I have made it about 20 times in the last 3 years. I have altered it a bit though. As me and most of the people who come over to eat it dont care for chunks of tomato. So I just put in 30 ounces of tomato sauce and no chunks of tomatoes or whole tomatoes. I also put in about a whole pound of bacon to go with the pound of pork and beef. I dont add habanero since i already get complaints about it being to hot with just jalapeno. I just dont take out much of the seeds in my jalapenos so it still has kick to it. Anyone who is thinking about making this for the super bowl or any other occaison I recommend it and will be making it Super Bowl Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
THIS WAS GREAT. I ELIMINATED ALL THE PEPPERS EXCEPT THE JALAPENOS AND USED A 16.5 OZ BOTTLE OF DOC JACKS HABANERO GRILLIN SOSS. THIS CHILI ALSO GOES GREAT WITH ANDY'S FIVE PEPPER WINGS ALSO LOADED WITH PEPPERS AND LOTS OF HEAT. GREAT COMBO FOR ANY SUPERBOWL PARTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Awesome recipe, Followed it to the T with the exception of the Bacon, only because I didnt have any, added a little extra Cumin... because I love it ... Was afraid the peppers would be tooo hot, but not at all, was very flavorful & with the peppers being seeded, the heat was perfect ! Great recipe , was told not to lose this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
If you like spicy chili this is the recipe for you. With the amount of peppers in the recipe its not as hot as you'd think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Photo by DaCuda
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very very good! It is hot of course but the taste is fantastic and yes, its easy to make. It is MUCH better after sitting in the fridge a day or two! After sitting it also does not seem as hot so next time we plan to add a bit more bacon, another habanero and two more cans of beans. But the first time we followed the recipe exact and it turned out fantastic. If you did not think much of it after making it please try throwing it in the fridge and reheat it well the next day, its a whole new chili after that! I did cook longer as well, forgot to mention that. I cooked it for about 90 minutes then added bacon and beans. I had to run so I left it on low for about 3 hours after that. Also, for gloves I had a box of surgical gloves and that works GREAT. They fit so well to your hands they do not get in the way and after chopping the peppers can just be thrown out. A whole box is only a couple bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaCuda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
very very good chili very colorful and spicy keep a box of tissues around 4 people to wipe there runny nose on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I just won the chili cook off at work with this recipe - I cut the habs down to 2, japs down to 3, Anaheims down to 6 and used beef broth instead of bouillon and no water-My house smelled so wonderful and i had so much fun making this - Wear gloves when handling the peppers please! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This chili has a great flavor, but it wasn't hot like I thought it'd be. Now granted, I used serrano peppers instead of habanero since that's what I had but it's not that spicy. I'm glad I tried it before entering a chili cookoff. I had about 8 cups of diced peppers! Maybe I should have kept the seeds in instead of seeding them like suggested. It didn't even get hotter after rewarming another day. I had to add Mountain Man to give it more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Buckner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Hellfire couldn't be more accurate! This is such a great tasting chili, but not recommended for the average chili fan. You REALLY need to be a fan of spice to eat this one. This was my first attempt at making chili, and I'm pleased with how easy this was. Don't let the large ingredient list throw you off, this is a very simple recipe. Hands down, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States