Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Couldn't find a couple of things in our northern south dakota town of 25,000. No fresh habenero's or chili paste. Used pickled habenero's and just omitted the chili paste. Other than that did exactly as recipe called for. We like spicy food, so very good, if you don't like spicy, don't bother, you will hate it. Thanks, great chili recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Tonight is the second time I am making this. It is sooooo good. The first time I cut down on the peppers. I used 3 Habanero, 4 Jalapeno and 6 Anaheim. I also used less of the red pepper flakes. This time I am going all in. 6 Habaneros, 6 Jalapenos and 6 Anaheim. Can't wait for the results. Even that it was really good last time and spicy, I felt the next day it didn't have that much heat. It was still amazing, but not spicy, that's why I am trying it with all the peppers. Can't hardly wait. One more hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
this was sooooooo good. I loved it. It was even better the next day!! Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very good, took some to work and everyone wanted the recipe. Will definetly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malefic Corpse

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My family loved this! I looked at the other reviews and left out some of the peppers. I used 6 jalapenos, and 3 habeneros. No Annehiems. I also left out the chili paste since I couldn't find any and doubled the tomato paste. This makes ALOT of Chili! We ate it for dinner and hubby took it for lunch and I still froze some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Thought this was a great recipe. I followed the ingredient list and was scared after I tasted the aneheim peppers because they were hot. Think peppers in the summer time rippen better and have more spice. Therefore, only added two habies when I should of put in four. This chili recipe was medium hot with 2 habies. This chili is going to New Mexico with us into the mountains. Thanks for a great chili recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie44
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Im a lover of spicy/hot foods so I wanted to try this recipe. I pretty much halved the recipe as I only cook for me (big portion eater) and hubby (not a big portion eater). Hubby hasnt tasted it just yet but I think its average. I used 4 habs, 1 ana, and 3 jals....and kept a few of those hab seeds for some extra "fire". Beware: IT IS HOT!!!! I think the cumin was somewhat overpowering...I also added a pinch of light brown sugar and honey to give a "sweet hot" as someone else recommended. I also used tomatoe sauce and crushed tomatoes with basil....and a shot of habenero tabasco sauce since I didnt have chili paste around. I probably won't make it again, but I will be freezing this current back for later in the week....a good "go to" lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was a very yummy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj421

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Definitely a nice kick to it. I was concerned at first when the beer flavour seem to overwhelm the dish, but as it sits all the flavours came together. I also omitted the beans (don't like beans) and did not change any other part of the recipe, and it turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Made it by the numbers, i.m.h.o. it was a bit too hot for most people. I added 16 oz. crushed tomatoes and 16 oz. of stewed tomatoes and that toned it down a bit. Overall, fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States