Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was Awesome Chili! First let me say I love "HOT" food, I love a good burn!!! I read the other reviews and was sceptical about adding all the peppers, but did anyway. I personally did not find this chili to be hot, not even on the second day. But remember I am used to eating hot foods with Habanero Hot Sauce. So for my liking next time I will be adding some of the seeds from the peppers to create the desired level of Hot I am looking for. But besides, my personal preference, the taste of the chili was Excellent!!!! I did make some minor changes: I added 2 cans of Hot Chili Beans and 2 cans of Kidney Beans (both 16oz cans, both drained), I only added 1 cup of water, I added the full pound of bacon, and also added a pound of ground Italian Hot Sausage. This made the consistancy of the chili thick and meaty.... I sereved hot topped with shredded Mexican blend cheese and sourcream and side of tortilla chips for dipping.... Yummy!! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ltsplaynice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
this now my new chili recipe...but I use about 1/3 of the peppers so I get a "fire chili", insted of a "hellfire chili"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
It was a little too spicy for my own comfort. I didn't even use all of the peppers in the recipe. Nor did I use the bacon. However, with a little bit of adjustments, I think this could be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
i'm a vegetarian, so i had to change some of this up, obviously. to any vegetarians browsing chili recipies, i say try this out. what i did was instead of ground beef and pork, i simply used 2 and 2/3rds bags of morning star tofu crumbles. for the bacon, i used morningstar bacon. everything else i followed to a tee, except the chili beans. all i could find were kidney beans, so i used those. i also couldn't find habaneros at the store, so i used scotch bonnet peppers. the result was absolutely delicious (and mmm! spicy!) and i gave some to some of my carnivorous friends who slopped it up. a friend looked up and said "wait -- who did you make this for? it must be awful making chili when you can't eat it." i replied "i sure can!" and scooped some up with a chip. they all stayed staring at me and i parried, "it's vegetarian!" i got a unanimous "NO WAAAYYY!" hahahaha! so i say give this a shot, and drop me a message with your results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
really good hot chile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This chili is GREAT. It was a little hot this first time I made it so I only added half the habbies the next time. Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this recipe was great. I made it exactly as the instructions recommended and it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
One of the best chili recipes I have had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Toxic - Tears - Five Alarm - Gastronomical
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eh Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Was pretty good. Nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States