Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Turned out really good. Obviously "hot" is relative since some people like really spicy foods and others don't. If you don't like spicy food, obviously find a different recipe. If you do, it's fantastic. Great flavor from this chili, not just all burn and no taste. Two things: may not want to use 2 cups of water. It was a little too soupy for my tastes, I like my chili thick. I'd cut it to 1 cup. Also, make it ahead of time. I made it on Saturday and stuck it in the fridge until Monday. Flavors blend together quite nicely as it ages. It tasted much better Monday than it did Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great flavor!!! Used Serrano's instead of Jalapeno's, beef broth instead of beer, chicken in place of beef cubes, and I added white pepper plus mexican oregano.Also, used sauce instead of diced and diced in place of whole. I know that sounds like a lot of changes but it was all because of personal taste nothing against the recipe. I always wanted to find a HOT recipe...now I have! Hot but not enough you can't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is very good! I forgot to drain the beans and only partially drained the peeled tomoatoes but did not add any water. It warms the mouth without burning, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Some like it hot...and this chili is spicy! We love it. Followed it to the letter and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great for Superbowl, second time I've made it and the compliments role in. I was hesitant to follow directions but did it anyways and it was dead on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Fey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was delicious. It wasn't nearly as hot as I thought it was going to be. I eat Indian food regularly, and this doesn't compare to Indian Vindaloo. My apprehension had to grounds, this chili was incredible! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this recipe as written except I didn't use the chili paste because I have no idea what that is? I also couldn't find fresh habanero's so I had to use the ones that come in a jar. I think that really hurt my results because, believe it or not, this recipe was just NOT hot enough. I'm sure the fresh ones would have made it hotter. The chili was still very tasty, but I've made other chili that was just as tasty and hot enough for me, with far fewer ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was Awesome Chili! First let me say I love "HOT" food, I love a good burn!!! I read the other reviews and was sceptical about adding all the peppers, but did anyway. I personally did not find this chili to be hot, not even on the second day. But remember I am used to eating hot foods with Habanero Hot Sauce. So for my liking next time I will be adding some of the seeds from the peppers to create the desired level of Hot I am looking for. But besides, my personal preference, the taste of the chili was Excellent!!!! I did make some minor changes: I added 2 cans of Hot Chili Beans and 2 cans of Kidney Beans (both 16oz cans, both drained), I only added 1 cup of water, I added the full pound of bacon, and also added a pound of ground Italian Hot Sausage. This made the consistancy of the chili thick and meaty.... I sereved hot topped with shredded Mexican blend cheese and sourcream and side of tortilla chips for dipping.... Yummy!! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ltsplaynice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
this now my new chili recipe...but I use about 1/3 of the peppers so I get a "fire chili", insted of a "hellfire chili"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
It was a little too spicy for my own comfort. I didn't even use all of the peppers in the recipe. Nor did I use the bacon. However, with a little bit of adjustments, I think this could be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States