Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Jus made this chili tonight....by far best chili I have ever had switched meats due to chicken n turkey bacon for diet reasons but all ingredients are dead on....great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Love this recipe! Have made it several times, though I typically cut the number of jalepenos and habeneros in half. Also I add a can of corn to moderate the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Germaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is our favorite chili recipe! We make it about once a month and freeze the leftovers. There is so much flavor and we get about three meals out of it. We think it tastes better after it has frozen and been reheated, all the flavors meld. Initially I'd make it exactly as written, but now usually use four of each pepper only because the chopping takes a lot of time. We haven't noticed much of a difference in taste. If I don't have bacon I'll leave that out too. Lots of heat though, so be prepared! Also, make sure to wear gloves, my hands burned for days after the first time I forgot gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtneymarie0725
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is an amazing recipe! My husband and the people on his boat love it! Made it yesterday morning and we have plenty left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Chili has awesome taste. Was able to find the Anaheim chilis at whole foods. They have an abundant supply of them. Everyone loved the chili. The only complaint is that it is not as hot as advertised. Had a good heat to it but not super spicy. This was good for the guest who are not big fans on heat, but the people (like myself) who crave the heat, it was lacking. That was resolved though simply by adding my favorite hot sauce. Great recipe. Worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is by far the tastiest chilli I've ever eaten. This is the only way I'm going to make chilli from now on. You can even use less peppers if your cooking for children or others and its still amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Gramins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
this came out great, I did exactly as the recipe says, not as spicy as I expected and not super salty...definitely will be doing this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Hello... I agree with Chef Mike. I cooked this chili yesterday for our semi annual chili 'cook off' and was awarded "best chili" out of about 12 entries... Did not deviate from the recipe other than using the seeds from half of the Hab's and Jalop's and adding a can of tomato sauce because it seemed thicker than I prefer. Simmered for about three hours. Thought it would be MUCH hotter than it actually turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iloveme284
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I never ate chili, but I thought I'd try something new. I chose this recipe because I love spicy and the reviews were pretty convincing. And I'm glad I chose it. What a great recipe to get me in to chili. I feel like I've been missing out all my life. This recipe has a nice heat to it. The spiciness wasn't overwhelming but as others said its relative. I like spicy and I rarely find things too hot. I made slight alterations to this recipe. I cooked it in a slow cooker overnight. I added more garlic (about 6 cloves) and omitted the water (my slow cooker had no room for water by the time I added everything else). And I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar. My husband loved the chili but asked if I could add more beans the next time. I think there were enough beans. Maybe next time I might add more bacon as it wasn't noticeable but other than that it was a great recipe. Living in California made finding the ingredients easy. I would recommend this recipe and will definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe! Entered this in a chili cook-off and placed second, missing first place by 1 vote. Our grocer had Anaheim peppers, however we could not find Chile paste, so we went without it. Also, based on the reviews here, I added 1/2 tablespoon salt and tasted it, preparing to add another 1/2 tablespoon, but it was perfect. Also note that 1 Wyler's bouillon cube = 1 teaspoon of granules, and there are 3 teaspoons in a tablespoon. Therefore this recipe calls for 6 bouillon cubes. One thing my wife and I will change when we make it again is add the full 1 lb of bacon instead of the half pound. The bacon was barely noticeable. Note that seeding 21 peppers is not a quick task...do that part first! Also, I used PBR for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Ladwig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States