Habanero Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. By the way...Giving a recipe a bad review because it didn't instruct you to wear gloves while handling habaneros is like giving a bad review for not telling you to wear oven mitts while removing a hot pan from the oven. It involves some level of common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I thought these were really good. I took them to a cookie exchange and while some of the ladies were fond of them, their husbands are the ones that raved about them. Yes, they are pretty hot. And, no, I am not going to take away stars because of a lack of glove language. If so, I'd have to deduct stars from every recipe that involves a knife that doesn't remind me not to cut my fingers off! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
We've got a ton of habaneros in the garden, so I thought this might be an interesting way to use them. The taste reminded me of a bland sugar cookie with the flavor of a green pepper. Not exactly what I'd hoped for. I was, however, glad to learn the milk trick to cooling down my peppers for use in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNITTINQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
GREAT cookies. My review of this recipe gets 2 stars, however, because it didn't warn readers to WEAR GLOVES or something protective while preparing the peppers. My hands burned for hours. I made the cookies yesterday evening, and this morning my hands still burn. The recipe was delicious, will definitely make it a again, but just wanted to give out a word of warning. USE GLOVES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These cookies are a perfect combination of sweet & a slow hot after glow for your mouth! They're addictive too! I made them twice last week & will be making them again. Everybody wants the recipe! I need to stress, like another reviewer, it's an absolute must to wear gloves to protect your skin from the Capsaicin, the irritant that makes the peppers hot. It's also a good idea to ventilate your work area so not to breathe in the vapors. Especially if you use the footnote suggestion on how to take some of the hot out of the peppers before using them. The vapors are pretty wicked when you open the microwave door & also while rinseing them with warm water. I followed this recipe exactly & they were perfect each time. The footnote says you can repeat the process with the milk if you like but I found that just one time was sufficient to take any overbearing heat out but left a perfect amount of burn effect! My husband normally doesn't like anything hot but he loves these cookies! He can't seem to get enough of them. Thanks again for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This is a wonderful combination of spicy and sweet!!! I was tempted to cut down on the habanero peppers but it was great according to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i never follow recipes well but i followed this one almost exactly so i finally get to review a recipe! they were to DIE for. i have made them 3 times in the past 2 weeks and im not even a baker! i really like spicy stuff so i added more habaneros, did not seed them, or do the milk bath and they were HOT! but its exactly how i wanted it to be. i melted some milk choc to put as a glaze and it was yummy. i will be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I was very surprised. We used 4 very fine minced habaneros and did not soak them in the milk. They are very tasty and everyone who we shared these with loved them. You definitely feel the tingle at the back of the throat but for me it was not uncomfortable. Other people who do not do heat at all did not like that part but still liked the flavor of the cookie. To give you a marker my heat level is a mild to low medium. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Yep, they are hot. I use the milk treatment twice, everyone loves them except my granddaughter, she thinks they are hot. HAHA EVERYONE loves them. This year they are making it to the cookie baskets per requests of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I did not remove the heat - why use habs then? - and oh my gosh, that's a hot little recipe. Used 10 largish habaneros with seeds removed, and raw sugar, because that's what I had. Compellingly fiery and sweet. But holy tamoley, they've got a kick. Not for the faint of heart or stomach in their unaltered state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States