Habanero Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I'm still fanning the flames after this. I did find myself altering the recipe a bit to purposefully leave out the step of antagonizing the pepper's heat (and therefore use fewer habaneros). It's also of note that you *must* wear gloves and maybe protect your face while handling the peppers. Capsaicin (the irritant that makes the peppers hot) can be extremely bothersome if you don't protect your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike "Tartags"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Easy to make! I made 1/2 the recipe and got 3 dozen. The chocolate frosting that I put on made them just right! Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i never follow recipes well but i followed this one almost exactly so i finally get to review a recipe! they were to DIE for. i have made them 3 times in the past 2 weeks and im not even a baker! i really like spicy stuff so i added more habaneros, did not seed them, or do the milk bath and they were HOT! but its exactly how i wanted it to be. i melted some milk choc to put as a glaze and it was yummy. i will be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This is a wonderful combination of spicy and sweet!!! I was tempted to cut down on the habanero peppers but it was great according to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made them exactly to the recipe. They turned out great! My family loved the taste. Just the right combination of hot and sweet. Don't breathe in the vapors from the habanero seeds and pulp, though, it's like tear gas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Scott Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I was very surprised. We used 4 very fine minced habaneros and did not soak them in the milk. They are very tasty and everyone who we shared these with loved them. You definitely feel the tingle at the back of the throat but for me it was not uncomfortable. Other people who do not do heat at all did not like that part but still liked the flavor of the cookie. To give you a marker my heat level is a mild to low medium. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These cookies are a perfect combination of sweet & a slow hot after glow for your mouth! They're addictive too! I made them twice last week & will be making them again. Everybody wants the recipe! I need to stress, like another reviewer, it's an absolute must to wear gloves to protect your skin from the Capsaicin, the irritant that makes the peppers hot. It's also a good idea to ventilate your work area so not to breathe in the vapors. Especially if you use the footnote suggestion on how to take some of the hot out of the peppers before using them. The vapors are pretty wicked when you open the microwave door & also while rinseing them with warm water. I followed this recipe exactly & they were perfect each time. The footnote says you can repeat the process with the milk if you like but I found that just one time was sufficient to take any overbearing heat out but left a perfect amount of burn effect! My husband normally doesn't like anything hot but he loves these cookies! He can't seem to get enough of them. Thanks again for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Excellent Cookie! I made the batter a day ahead and refrigerated it so it was firm. I also keep it in the fridge when not scooping out cookies. The only variation I made was to reduce the butter by half and supplement with margarine, I like the cookie texture with margarine - I used Smart Balance. Per the supplemental instructions in the recipe, I soaked and rinsed the habaneros (once). Be extremely careful, wear gloves, glasses and a mask or bandanna over your nose and mouth would not be a bad idea either. I believe the baking temperature is incorrect at 325, my first batch took nearly 20 minutes, but that could have been because the dough was cold. Subsequent batches worked great at 350 for 12 to 15 minutes (until lightly golden).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Great Cookies! I am eating my 5th one as I type...not so sure will be good for my waistline but I love them! If you like heat don't cut down on the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are addicting! I made them for my husband, not expecting to like them myself, and I have to say I love them. I didn't see any reason to use so many peppers and then take the heat back out with milk, so I followed the advice of one reviewer and used 4 peppers finely minced and they are perfect. The heat is evenly distributed, and there aren't any little hot spots. The cookies don't taste like peppers. They are chewy, butter cookies with a nice amount of Hananero heat. They didn't need it, but I added chocolate cookie buttercream frosting from this site, and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States