Habanero Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum. YUm. YUM!!! I was a major skeptic, but was won over after one nibble! I took a few down to my favorite watering hole and had a few guys actually "order" some - I have to make 8 dozen of these bad boys tomorrow! I did not use the heat reducing method, mostly because you just don't do that to a habanero. It's supposed to be hot. The only critical remark that I have to make about the recipe is that my cookies took more like 15 minutes to bake. Otherwise - perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Amazing! I only used seven habaneros because a few of mine were rather large. I also didn't do the milk bath...I wanted a little kick. With the seven habaneros I didn't find the cookies too spicy. It was a perfect "creep up on you" heat that dissipated shortly thereafter. I think I might use one or two more habaneros next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Easy to make! I made 1/2 the recipe and got 3 dozen. The chocolate frosting that I put on made them just right! Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are addicting! I made them for my husband, not expecting to like them myself, and I have to say I love them. I didn't see any reason to use so many peppers and then take the heat back out with milk, so I followed the advice of one reviewer and used 4 peppers finely minced and they are perfect. The heat is evenly distributed, and there aren't any little hot spots. The cookies don't taste like peppers. They are chewy, butter cookies with a nice amount of Hananero heat. They didn't need it, but I added chocolate cookie buttercream frosting from this site, and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i never follow recipes well but i followed this one almost exactly so i finally get to review a recipe! they were to DIE for. i have made them 3 times in the past 2 weeks and im not even a baker! i really like spicy stuff so i added more habaneros, did not seed them, or do the milk bath and they were HOT! but its exactly how i wanted it to be. i melted some milk choc to put as a glaze and it was yummy. i will be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I'm having a hard time figuring out how to rate these...the sugar cookie part is wonderful (though I added a bit extra vanilla and rolled in raw sugar) but the habanero part is just too much! I doubled the recipe and used 15 habanero's instead of 20, I did the milk bath twice (thanks for that tip, very helpful). I love the bites I get with the slow heat, but I get bites with the overpowering heat that just ruins it for me. I minced the habanero's super fine too. Its a fun idea and I was excited to try for a "fire" themed party :) I'll see how they go over with everyone else. I think they'd be 4 star with 1/2 or even 1/4 the amount of peppers. I topped mine with a lime glaze in hopes the sour/sweet would help a bit with the heat...haha, tastes good but didn't help! Be sure everyone knows what they are getting into when they eat one of these :) OK - one day later and I took them to a class, they went over very well!! I wish I could give this 3.5 stars - definitely worth trying if you are thinking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Whew! These are the taste treat of the year!! Made them for my son's visit,as he likes HOT stuff. I don't even like cookies,but am afraid if he doesn't get here soon there will only be crumbs left. One problem- oven temperature, I had to set mine higher. These are a very moist fruity delicate cookie,sounds lady-like,but is no weak lady cookie!!! Love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are awesome! I did the milk treatment twice too. Still had a bite..a bit delayed but it was there. The cookie flavor was wonderful also. Thanks for the recipe and the new way to use up my peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Yep, they are hot. I use the milk treatment twice, everyone loves them except my granddaughter, she thinks they are hot. HAHA EVERYONE loves them. This year they are making it to the cookie baskets per requests of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I thought these were really good. I took them to a cookie exchange and while some of the ladies were fond of them, their husbands are the ones that raved about them. Yes, they are pretty hot. And, no, I am not going to take away stars because of a lack of glove language. If so, I'd have to deduct stars from every recipe that involves a knife that doesn't remind me not to cut my fingers off! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States