Habanero Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Family loved these even though they don't like spicy food. Tastes like a plain sugar cookie and then your mouth/throat get eerily warm. It is so odd! Can't believe there are 10 habaneros in there. I put mine in the food processor (didn't do the milk soak) and needed to cook them much longer. Next time I'm going to up the oven temp to see if that helps. Was my first time using habanaros and I was pretty nervous - great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Not bad. Love habaneros. Katie. Wear gloves. Peppers are hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Had an allergic reaction to the Habanero. The cooked cookies left blisters on my fingers and removed top of mouth. I liked the cookies, but will never be able to make them again. I have no problems with other peppers (Serrano or Jalapeno). Total surprise. Son-in-law loved them. Too hot for daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These are basically sugar cookies with heat. I really liked them ... I gave them to friends for the holidays and they loved them. I really suggest eating them with a glass of milk, because the heat is substantial. I didn't do the milk bath portion of the recipe, so they were pretty heat-in-mouth-and-throat-inducing which was was a double bonus for me as it kept me from devouring more than one in a sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Sweet and Spicy :) I loved it and made a variety after reading the review...as is, with mangoes and pecans, with coconut, with chocolate chips and also with a chocolate drizzle. I also used 1 c white and 1/2 c brown for variation. When I added the other items, I cut down on the peppers and used 6-7; Idid the milk soak and they were perfect. Surprisingly more people volunteered they loved peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Absolute hit!!! Family loved them, even my 10 year old enjoyed them. Too some to the office and they were a hit there too. They have this warming heat to them. Not too intense. A great savory sweet combination. I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscantl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Thought they were awesome, a big hit with everyone that tried them. I altered it some, used organic sugar, butter and flower, lessened the peppers by half and added some dried cranberries & mangos and pecans. Turned out delicious. Happy to find another good recipe to use my habaneros. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I love hot stuff and different stuff so this recipe apeeled to me in several ways. I did milk bath the peppers once because I was planning on bringing these to work. Once people got over their surprize these cookies vanished. Later people told me they had even taken extra home for their families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Definitely worth fiddling with. I made two batches - first, followed recipe to a tee but found they had no heat at all. Second, didn't do the milk bath at all and found they were too hot for my taste. Next time I will do the milk bath for about two minutes. Only other change is I think it needs some kind of glaze...possibly cayenne pepper glaze or sriracha glaze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Very hot but they don't burn the mouth and lips like hot salsa does. The cookies themselves were just ok tasting though. I don't think I softened the butter too much or added too much vanilla but my cookie dough was too moist and my cookies flat. My first batch was unusable as they stuck to my air-bake pan and crumbled when I tried to remove them. I assumed that the amount of butter in the cookie would make them not stick. For my next batch I used a nonstick pan and they worked just fine. The recipe should have a warning about using gloves as others have stated. I am accustomed to cooking with hot peppers but everyone who uses this website is at a different level of skill and experience. Recipes should include helpful tips and instructions on making food without incident so that we can all learn from each other rather than from our mistakes. If you take a good knife skills class you will learn how to cut and chop peppers without getting the hot on your hands. That said I still used gloves on this recipe just in case, mostly because I wear contacts and removing them with pepper juice on my hands is the most painful thing I've ever experienced. Similarly, the footnote on removing heat from the peppers using milk should be in the recipe instructions as an optional step. I use the app on my iPad while I am cooking, and footnotes don't show up there so I had to go to the internet to read what it said. I wouldn't even have known it existed if I hadn't read the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States