Habanero Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I brought these to work, and the miners LOVED them! I made them last night, and I threw some diced dried mango into the mix, because.. duh. mango goes great with habanero! anyways, there are some other store bought cookies here, havent been touched! haha. I wanted to let everyone know that because of the high butter content (awesome) they do melt out a bit IF you spoon them onto a hot pan. Spoon the batter onto cool sheets, and they will stay nice and round through out the baking :) I used the milk treatment on half of my peppers, and to be honest I won't next time.. they arent hot enough lol. They cool off a LOT after they are fully cooled. just fyi. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
While I love the concept of these (sweet w/a bite), I don't really care for the actual cookie base. My cookies spread quite a bit and were quite flat. I followed the recipe to a "T", with the exception of halving it when I didn't have 10 habaneros. These are definately a nice something different and are absolutely worth trying. If I make them again, I'll chill the dough and see if that helps eliminate the spreading/flat cookies. I did the milk bath once and the resulting cookies had a nice bit, but I would not call them "hot". THANKS for the recipe, RALEIGHL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
A little disapointed. I was expecting the habanero flavour to marry with the cookie, but instead, it just felt like little pieces of very spicy habanero inside a sweet cookie instead of choc. chips. It felt kind of weird and out of no where. No one who tried them thought they went well together, and we LOVE spicy! So that was not the issue. I used orange habaneros. I am still giving them four stars because the cookie part was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. By the way...Giving a recipe a bad review because it didn't instruct you to wear gloves while handling habaneros is like giving a bad review for not telling you to wear oven mitts while removing a hot pan from the oven. It involves some level of common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum. YUm. YUM!!! I was a major skeptic, but was won over after one nibble! I took a few down to my favorite watering hole and had a few guys actually "order" some - I have to make 8 dozen of these bad boys tomorrow! I did not use the heat reducing method, mostly because you just don't do that to a habanero. It's supposed to be hot. The only critical remark that I have to make about the recipe is that my cookies took more like 15 minutes to bake. Otherwise - perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Amazing! I only used seven habaneros because a few of mine were rather large. I also didn't do the milk bath...I wanted a little kick. With the seven habaneros I didn't find the cookies too spicy. It was a perfect "creep up on you" heat that dissipated shortly thereafter. I think I might use one or two more habaneros next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Easy to make! I made 1/2 the recipe and got 3 dozen. The chocolate frosting that I put on made them just right! Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are addicting! I made them for my husband, not expecting to like them myself, and I have to say I love them. I didn't see any reason to use so many peppers and then take the heat back out with milk, so I followed the advice of one reviewer and used 4 peppers finely minced and they are perfect. The heat is evenly distributed, and there aren't any little hot spots. The cookies don't taste like peppers. They are chewy, butter cookies with a nice amount of Hananero heat. They didn't need it, but I added chocolate cookie buttercream frosting from this site, and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i never follow recipes well but i followed this one almost exactly so i finally get to review a recipe! they were to DIE for. i have made them 3 times in the past 2 weeks and im not even a baker! i really like spicy stuff so i added more habaneros, did not seed them, or do the milk bath and they were HOT! but its exactly how i wanted it to be. i melted some milk choc to put as a glaze and it was yummy. i will be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nooney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I'm having a hard time figuring out how to rate these...the sugar cookie part is wonderful (though I added a bit extra vanilla and rolled in raw sugar) but the habanero part is just too much! I doubled the recipe and used 15 habanero's instead of 20, I did the milk bath twice (thanks for that tip, very helpful). I love the bites I get with the slow heat, but I get bites with the overpowering heat that just ruins it for me. I minced the habanero's super fine too. Its a fun idea and I was excited to try for a "fire" themed party :) I'll see how they go over with everyone else. I think they'd be 4 star with 1/2 or even 1/4 the amount of peppers. I topped mine with a lime glaze in hopes the sour/sweet would help a bit with the heat...haha, tastes good but didn't help! Be sure everyone knows what they are getting into when they eat one of these :) OK - one day later and I took them to a class, they went over very well!! I wish I could give this 3.5 stars - definitely worth trying if you are thinking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States