Habanero Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Thought they were awesome, a big hit with everyone that tried them. I altered it some, used organic sugar, butter and flower, lessened the peppers by half and added some dried cranberries & mangos and pecans. Turned out delicious. Happy to find another good recipe to use my habaneros. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I love hot stuff and different stuff so this recipe apeeled to me in several ways. I did milk bath the peppers once because I was planning on bringing these to work. Once people got over their surprize these cookies vanished. Later people told me they had even taken extra home for their families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Definitely worth fiddling with. I made two batches - first, followed recipe to a tee but found they had no heat at all. Second, didn't do the milk bath at all and found they were too hot for my taste. Next time I will do the milk bath for about two minutes. Only other change is I think it needs some kind of glaze...possibly cayenne pepper glaze or sriracha glaze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Very hot but they don't burn the mouth and lips like hot salsa does. The cookies themselves were just ok tasting though. I don't think I softened the butter too much or added too much vanilla but my cookie dough was too moist and my cookies flat. My first batch was unusable as they stuck to my air-bake pan and crumbled when I tried to remove them. I assumed that the amount of butter in the cookie would make them not stick. For my next batch I used a nonstick pan and they worked just fine. The recipe should have a warning about using gloves as others have stated. I am accustomed to cooking with hot peppers but everyone who uses this website is at a different level of skill and experience. Recipes should include helpful tips and instructions on making food without incident so that we can all learn from each other rather than from our mistakes. If you take a good knife skills class you will learn how to cut and chop peppers without getting the hot on your hands. That said I still used gloves on this recipe just in case, mostly because I wear contacts and removing them with pepper juice on my hands is the most painful thing I've ever experienced. Similarly, the footnote on removing heat from the peppers using milk should be in the recipe instructions as an optional step. I use the app on my iPad while I am cooking, and footnotes don't show up there so I had to go to the internet to read what it said. I wouldn't even have known it existed if I hadn't read the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious recipe! Made them and took them to work. After coworkers got over initial surprise of peppers being in the cookies, I got great feedback. They were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I saw this recipe after I found some overstock Habanero's at my local supermarket for cheap. I really didn't know what I was going to do with all these peppers till I ran across this recipe. I also didn't know what to expect. I love them however I didn't use the "cool down method" and they were spicy. A little too spicy for my wife.. But I loved them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Yes! everyone is so surpised when we make these cookies. We have been making them for about 6 years now. We also soak the peppers twice. 3 times is too much. Love love love these cookies, but make sure to have a side of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
We used 4 small habaneros and the adults loved! It made 32 cookies about 2.5" in diameter. Too spicy for kids and we all love spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
absolutely wonderful, and great for halloween :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These are outstanding! I used 7 Habanero peppers and did not do the milk bath. I wanted them to have some hotness but not be so hot that people only talked about the heat of the cookie rather than the taste. I also put a chocolate frosting on top to add dimension and give different levels of taste. I will make these often!! Thanks for sharing such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States