HERDEZ® Sweet Chipotle Chili Lime Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made these wings this evening while my was at the gym. As soon as she came home the aroma led her right to them. We both agreed they're excellent and a break from traditional buffalo wings. We both like spicy foods and this hit the spot. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Oh so yummy. Will absolutely be making again. Made with a cheesy Mexican cornbread and a Mexican bean salad - also on this sight. Phenomenal themed dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superhotmama
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
The flavor in these explodes! Sadly, our oven "imploded" the day we were to make them so in a pinch, we had to microwave. They lacked the caramelized "zip" we'd get in the oven, but the recipe is good enough and fast enough to recreate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The whole family was pleasantly surprised! The flavor was fantastic and a nice change from traditional buffalo style. The wings were cooke perfectly-nice and moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
So far I’ve made these twice. The first time I put the frozen chicken wings on a well oiled broiler pan. When I’ve baked frozen wings before they tend to swim in liquid so using a broiler pan lets that liquid drip away allowing the wings to crisp up quicker. I baked, turning once or twice and I really don’t remember if I baked for the recommended time, but it was close – I just baked until they looked crispy. I then followed the rest of the directions as indicated adding some minced garlic to the sauce mixture. These turned out fantastic. We’re from the north and didn’t grow up on hot/spicy foods so that is something we’re not used to. Neither my husband nor I like a sauce that leaves you running for something to drink. These wings did not do that. The ratio of sweet to heat was perfect for us and it didn’t leave a lasting effect in our mouths. The second time I made these I was doing the baking part by memory. They didn’t seem to crisp up and caramelize like they did the first time for me. Well that’s because there is a reason recipes have directions! I forgot the broiler step. By not using the broiler to help caramelize and do a final “crisp” it sure changed this recipe for us – both taste and mouth feel. We liked the second batch but NOT near as well as the first batch. That’s one reason why you shouldn’t multi-task while cooking. So the broiler step is a must to a perfect chicken wing! Thank you Shelby, for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The chicken wings had a very unique taste - one that I liked! I'm not a cilantro fan (one of those people who think it tastes like soap - heard that's some sort of genetic thing, but it's a curse), but I had to add it because it was pretty. My fridge has been acting up and froze my chicken wings, so I was thrilled that I could make this dish WITH EASE. Yep, and that's the best part of this recipe...super easy! I dumped all the sauce on in the end. Nothing like some finger-licking, good wings. My lime was sold as a LARGE lime, so I may have had more juice than intended, but it was good! Great job on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Wonderful and so simple! I was pleasantly surprised how good this was with a main ingredient coming from a jar..{GASP}. I sprinkled a little "house" seasoning I found on Paula Deen's website onto the frozen wings and cooked as directed. My sweet little granddaughter said they were "yummy and only a tiny bit spicy." I will definitely make these again. I imagine they'd keep well in a slow cooker for our next get-together. I bet they'd be good on the grill too. Thanks Hardez, I am glad I found you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Super Recipe! My family loved these wings. Before baking, I covered a large cookie sheet with foil and sprayed it with Pam. I seasoned the wings with Season All and pepper, then I drizzled 3 T. of butter on the wings. My hubby likes his wings spicy, so along with the brown sugar and lime juice, I added 1/4 tsp. of chipolte pepper. We liked the flavor of the wings better than Frank's Hot Wing Sauce. Grumpy Honeybunch, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Chicken wings and a beer cost nearly $25 in downtown Chicago. Why not make them at home? These were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
We thought these were very tasty! I also used fresh wings, but did bake them longer b/c we wanted them crispier. After tossing w/ some of the sauce and broiling them, I just served the remaining sauce on the side b/c I didn't want it to be too spicy for the little guy (who does like spicy foods, and did end up using extra sauce, lol). Great flavor/spice and a nice, different way to serve wings! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States