HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very tasty cornbread! This is my favorite out of the Herdez recipes I tried. My only issue was it was so moist it wouldn't hold together for photos. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is a very tasty cornbread. Texture was perfect, and it cut into squares beautifully. You get just a little kick from the tomatillo verde sauce and pepperjack cheese to let you know that you're eating something from South of the Border. And the addition of the chopped peppers gives the cornbread good eye appeal. Great job Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Thank you, Paula, for a delicious cornbread. The flavor was perfect! The texture was moist which all of my guests raved about. Mine turned out a bit crumbly (probably due to the fact that I added 2 1/4 cups of flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was a very moist cornbread, not at all dry. I baked the cornbread in a cast iron muffin pan, and needed to almost double the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe and made it with all cornmeal, even though I normally would use half cornmeal and half flour. The color was great, and it was moist. A little crumbly but very good. I think the addition of the cooking sauce was a great idea. I substituted pickled jalapenos for the mild green chiles because we like it hot here in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Paula, this is a delicious bread! I had to use Herdez Chipotle sauce because I couldn't find the verde. I was really very good. The only problem I had with it is I definitely should have refrigerated the leftovers because within two days it turned very sour smelling. Hence....no picture. But I will be making this again and store it properly. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Moist and flavorful. The pepperjack and Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce give this just the right amount of spices for a little kick without over powering the cornbread. Paula what a great recipe. This will be my go to cornbread when I want a Mexican flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. It went really well with the Herdez Red Guajillo Chile Chicken Tortilla Soup from this site. Since I only had regular corn and not creamed corn, I drained the can of corn and put 1/2 in the food processor to blend it smooth and then combined it with the rest of the corn and I had creamed corn. It worked great in the recipe. I also used jalapeños instead of green chilies and it had just the right amount of heat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made as cornbread layer for Sweet Tamale Pie. Complimented that dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Moist, delicious, and full of flavor - what more could you ask of for from a cornbread recipe? This definitely was a nice change from regular cornbread plus, it had a nice little "kick" to it which made it a perfect accompaniment to a warm bowl of chili. Thanks Paula for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States