HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Moist, delicious, and full of flavor - what more could you ask of for from a cornbread recipe? This definitely was a nice change from regular cornbread plus, it had a nice little "kick" to it which made it a perfect accompaniment to a warm bowl of chili. Thanks Paula for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made as cornbread layer for Sweet Tamale Pie. Complimented that dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Moist and flavorful. The pepperjack and Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce give this just the right amount of spices for a little kick without over powering the cornbread. Paula what a great recipe. This will be my go to cornbread when I want a Mexican flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Thank you, Paula, for a delicious cornbread. The flavor was perfect! The texture was moist which all of my guests raved about. Mine turned out a bit crumbly (probably due to the fact that I added 2 1/4 cups of flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for "Mexican" day at my office. It was a hit. I had to make one substitution. I could not find the tomatillo sauce with a prepared salsa verde. Because if that, I'll use just pepper jack cheese (1 cup) and omit the cheddar. It could use a little more kick since I had to substitute the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe and made it with all cornmeal, even though I normally would use half cornmeal and half flour. The color was great, and it was moist. A little crumbly but very good. I think the addition of the cooking sauce was a great idea. I substituted pickled jalapenos for the mild green chiles because we like it hot here in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very salty and greasy with awful flavor. Nothing at all like cornbread I've eaten in the past. I guess the 2 TABLESPOONS of baking powder + 1 cup of cheese + 1 tablespoon of kosher salt should have clued me in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Made this for a friend who came over for dinner, who is gluten free. It's a really soft cake like bread. I couldn't find any pepper jack cheese, so i used monteray jack, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States