HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made as cornbread layer for Sweet Tamale Pie. Complimented that dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Moist, delicious, and full of flavor - what more could you ask of for from a cornbread recipe? This definitely was a nice change from regular cornbread plus, it had a nice little "kick" to it which made it a perfect accompaniment to a warm bowl of chili. Thanks Paula for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Moist and flavorful. The pepperjack and Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce give this just the right amount of spices for a little kick without over powering the cornbread. Paula what a great recipe. This will be my go to cornbread when I want a Mexican flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Jacolyn Dandreano
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Thank you, Paula, for a delicious cornbread. The flavor was perfect! The texture was moist which all of my guests raved about. Mine turned out a bit crumbly (probably due to the fact that I added 2 1/4 cups of flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn Dandreano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for "Mexican" day at my office. It was a hit. I had to make one substitution. I could not find the tomatillo sauce with a prepared salsa verde. Because if that, I'll use just pepper jack cheese (1 cup) and omit the cheddar. It could use a little more kick since I had to substitute the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is more of an authentic cornbread with the elimination of flour, no eggs, etc. With that, I will admit that I'm more of a lover of a southern cornbread that combines flour, eggs, butter...did I leave off sugar here? With that said, there's a benefit to this recipe: it could potentially be gluten free...and if you're like me and have someone in the family who has an intolerance to gluten, this is a relatively easy way to give them something with a little more taste than some of the bland things on the market. I'm not clear as to whether or not Herdez is a gluten free product, but surely something could be substituted if not. For those on gluten free diets who are new to all of this, just use caution checking your ingredients to be sure that everything you're putting in does not contain gluten...that would include the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is a very tasty cornbread. Texture was perfect, and it cut into squares beautifully. You get just a little kick from the tomatillo verde sauce and pepperjack cheese to let you know that you're eating something from South of the Border. And the addition of the chopped peppers gives the cornbread good eye appeal. Great job Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe and made it with all cornmeal, even though I normally would use half cornmeal and half flour. The color was great, and it was moist. A little crumbly but very good. I think the addition of the cooking sauce was a great idea. I substituted pickled jalapenos for the mild green chiles because we like it hot here in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very salty and greasy with awful flavor. Nothing at all like cornbread I've eaten in the past. I guess the 2 TABLESPOONS of baking powder + 1 cup of cheese + 1 tablespoon of kosher salt should have clued me in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States