HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made as cornbread layer for Sweet Tamale Pie. Complimented that dish perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Moist, delicious, and full of flavor - what more could you ask of for from a cornbread recipe? This definitely was a nice change from regular cornbread plus, it had a nice little "kick" to it which made it a perfect accompaniment to a warm bowl of chili. Thanks Paula for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Moist and flavorful. The pepperjack and Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce give this just the right amount of spices for a little kick without over powering the cornbread. Paula what a great recipe. This will be my go to cornbread when I want a Mexican flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Thank you, Paula, for a delicious cornbread. The flavor was perfect! The texture was moist which all of my guests raved about. Mine turned out a bit crumbly (probably due to the fact that I added 2 1/4 cups of flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for "Mexican" day at my office. It was a hit. I had to make one substitution. I could not find the tomatillo sauce with a prepared salsa verde. Because if that, I'll use just pepper jack cheese (1 cup) and omit the cheddar. It could use a little more kick since I had to substitute the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe and made it with all cornmeal, even though I normally would use half cornmeal and half flour. The color was great, and it was moist. A little crumbly but very good. I think the addition of the cooking sauce was a great idea. I substituted pickled jalapenos for the mild green chiles because we like it hot here in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very salty and greasy with awful flavor. Nothing at all like cornbread I've eaten in the past. I guess the 2 TABLESPOONS of baking powder + 1 cup of cheese + 1 tablespoon of kosher salt should have clued me in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Made this for a friend who came over for dinner, who is gluten free. It's a really soft cake like bread. I couldn't find any pepper jack cheese, so i used monteray jack, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States