HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Thank you, Paula, for a delicious cornbread. The flavor was perfect! The texture was moist which all of my guests raved about. Mine turned out a bit crumbly (probably due to the fact that I added 2 1/4 cups of flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe and made it with all cornmeal, even though I normally would use half cornmeal and half flour. The color was great, and it was moist. A little crumbly but very good. I think the addition of the cooking sauce was a great idea. I substituted pickled jalapenos for the mild green chiles because we like it hot here in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is a very tasty cornbread. Texture was perfect, and it cut into squares beautifully. You get just a little kick from the tomatillo verde sauce and pepperjack cheese to let you know that you're eating something from South of the Border. And the addition of the chopped peppers gives the cornbread good eye appeal. Great job Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Moist and flavorful. The pepperjack and Tomatilla Verde Mexican Cooking Sauce give this just the right amount of spices for a little kick without over powering the cornbread. Paula what a great recipe. This will be my go to cornbread when I want a Mexican flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. It went really well with the Herdez Red Guajillo Chile Chicken Tortilla Soup from this site. Since I only had regular corn and not creamed corn, I drained the can of corn and put 1/2 in the food processor to blend it smooth and then combined it with the rest of the corn and I had creamed corn. It worked great in the recipe. I also used jalapeños instead of green chilies and it had just the right amount of heat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Moist, delicious, and full of flavor - what more could you ask of for from a cornbread recipe? This definitely was a nice change from regular cornbread plus, it had a nice little "kick" to it which made it a perfect accompaniment to a warm bowl of chili. Thanks Paula for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was a very moist cornbread, not at all dry. I baked the cornbread in a cast iron muffin pan, and needed to almost double the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is more of an authentic cornbread with the elimination of flour, no eggs, etc. With that, I will admit that I'm more of a lover of a southern cornbread that combines flour, eggs, butter...did I leave off sugar here? With that said, there's a benefit to this recipe: it could potentially be gluten free...and if you're like me and have someone in the family who has an intolerance to gluten, this is a relatively easy way to give them something with a little more taste than some of the bland things on the market. I'm not clear as to whether or not Herdez is a gluten free product, but surely something could be substituted if not. For those on gluten free diets who are new to all of this, just use caution checking your ingredients to be sure that everything you're putting in does not contain gluten...that would include the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very tasty cornbread! This is my favorite out of the Herdez recipes I tried. My only issue was it was so moist it wouldn't hold together for photos. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
this was taste wise....spot on! Perfect with it being gluten-free. Hubby isn't much of a spicy corn bread person (a rather sweet cornbread eater).... I found it quite nice. I did find that the cornbread was held nicely around the edges but did crumble towards the center cut pieces. Possibly needing an egg as a binder. However, the flavor and moistness was great. Next time I'll mix in 2 eggs and see if I can get clean cuts all the way from pan to plate. I will make again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States