HERDEZ® Drowned Beef Sandwich with Chipotle Sauce (Torta Ahogada) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was VERY good! I used the Herdez Red Guajillo Chile sauce because that's what I had in the house! But I know it would be good just as written! I've tried 2 of these sauces and have been very pleased with them! It's a nice bold taste with just the perfect seasonings! Very authentic Mexican flavors! This sandwich was so quick and easy to make! Thanks for a great recipe Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
OMG. This is SOOO good. If you don't start with bd.weld's Slow-Roasted Beef for Sandwiches on this site, you will be missing a major component of this sandwich! Please do yourself a favor and take the time to get that done. But then with this recipe I made it according to what we know works for us. The rolls were first slathered with a bit of mayo and then a bit of horseradish. The onions, which I caramelized with only butter and a touch of salt, and the garlic added a necessary layer to the sandwich. I did add a little mozzarella to the buns. But I cut my meat very thin and added it to the pan with the garlic onions and beef broth/Herdez mixture. What a perfect sandwich! I mean perfect. This will become a staple in our family, and I can't wait to serve this to friends! Thank you so much, bd.weld! You are pure genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Wow, I cannot wait to make this recipe again! So happy I made enough for leftovers. I used a london broil cut of beef which I slow-cooked for nine hours w/ some Coca Cola to tenderize it. Then, I drained the liquid, sliced the meat and returned it to the slow cooker with the beef broth, cilantro, cooked onions/garlic, and Herdez sauce for another hour. Also, I made the bolillo rolls myself. The combination of the meat, sauce, and homemade rolls made for a VERY tasty meal. Thanks, bd.weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Delicious Mexican twist to a "french" dip sandwich. I used bd. weld's slow roasted beef from this site for the meat, but otherwise I followed it to a T. Just a tiny kick and Sparky says to make this again soon. Thanks for sharing bd. weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
EXCELLENT! We are sandwich people, so I knew that I had to make these...The flavors are wonderful! I used 'Philly' steaks in place of the roast beef, but I connot wait to try it w/ the 'Slow-Roasted Beef for Sandwiches'. This was a HUGE hit and a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Now this is a great sandwich! I had to change the method a bit, we have an onion hater in the family (silly girl) so I caramelized the onions and garlic in butter and did the chipotle sauce and beef broth in a separate pan. I mixed some of the chipotle cooking sauce with mayonnaise and spread that on the rolls. I put the rolls under the broiler to warm them up and toast them until the chipotle mayo was bubbling. I used very thinly sliced roast beef (slow roast beef for sandwiches on this site) and just dipped the beef into the sauce to just coat it. We like our beef rare so doing it this way didn't cook it any more. Topped with the caramelized onions and a bowl of sauce for dipping. This was a delicious meal that everyone enjoyed. Thanks bd.weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Made this recipe exactly as written and we loved it. Thanks for a great recipe bd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Our family loved these! I used the Red Guajillo Chile sauce and added a tiny bit of chile powder since that's what I had on hand, but they were great! My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
These sandwiches hit the spot! The Herdez Chipotle cooking sauce adds such a nice smoky flavor, and one heck of a kick! My husband loved it and ate 2 sandwiches! I DID start with bd.weld's slow roasted beef recipe (also from this site), and OMG - it was so good! I put my new meat slicer to work today (it just arrived yesterday)! Can't wait to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I would never have thought to used deli meat for a torta ahogada, but this was perfect. The sauce is amazing. I used a softer bread this time for the sandwich, but definitely will go with a more crusty bread to give it the 100% authentic feel it was made for. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States