HERDEZ® Drowned Beef Sandwich with Chipotle Sauce (Torta Ahogada) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Anything chipotle is a winner with us and this recipe was no exception. I did have to skip the cilantro (personal preference) and I subbed a can of beer for the beef broth. I doubled the onion and added some peppers from our garden (hot and sweet). I made the High Temp eye of round roast recipe from this site to go with the sauce. Served on my recipe for Beer Rolls. Everyone loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Simple, but satisfying. I did reduce the amount of Herdez sauce to reduce the heat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Really good. I made this for lunch today and we enjoyed it very much. I did have to change the meat because when I went to get my roast beef it was gone :/ But I had already started cooking so I used turkey. It worked very nicely. Beef would have been better but turkey worked in a pinch :) I did add cheese. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Loved this. I made a venison roast using Brian's (the submitter) famous Slow-Roasted Beef for Sandwiches recipe for this. (BTW - best venison roast I have ever made!) I followed some of the tips Baking Nana gave in her review and I toasted my buns by spreading each bun half with thin layer of butter and sprinkled with garlic powder and stuck them under the broiler until golden in hopes that the bun would not get soggy from the sauce. Since my husband is an onion hater I caramelized them separately so I could still add them to the top of MY sandwich. After the buns were toasted I spread one side with homemade mayo, added the "drowned" beef (aka venison in my case) and topped with a thin slice of provolone cheese (I am sure this makes it less of a Mexican thing but it was good!) and back under the broiler it went until the cheese was melted. I topped mine with the onions and skipped cilantro (not a fan). And these were one of the best sandwiches we've had in a long time. Good job Brian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I am not a huge fan of smoky chipotle flavor, so, I used my husband as the judge for this recipe. He LOVED it! He thought the spicy twist as a French dip was wonderful. It had great flavor and the sautéed onions were a perfect accompaniment. Using good deli roast beef made it a quick week night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This was very yummy...the perfect lunch. I also really like the Herdez sauce. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Wonderful! My hubby and son loved these Roast Beef Sandwiches so much, they both ate 2 sandwiches. I enjoyed the mild chipolte flavor of the sauce. Definitely use a crusty bread to sop up all the sauce. Thanks, Brian for a tasty sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I would never have thought to used deli meat for a torta ahogada, but this was perfect. The sauce is amazing. I used a softer bread this time for the sandwich, but definitely will go with a more crusty bread to give it the 100% authentic feel it was made for. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
These sandwiches hit the spot! The Herdez Chipotle cooking sauce adds such a nice smoky flavor, and one heck of a kick! My husband loved it and ate 2 sandwiches! I DID start with bd.weld's slow roasted beef recipe (also from this site), and OMG - it was so good! I put my new meat slicer to work today (it just arrived yesterday)! Can't wait to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Our family loved these! I used the Red Guajillo Chile sauce and added a tiny bit of chile powder since that's what I had on hand, but they were great! My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States