HERDEZ® Creamy Tomatillo Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Definitely has a good kick from the tomatillo sauce, but this is a fantastic salsa with a perfect creamy texture. We enjoyed it as much as a fresh veggie dip as we did with tortilla chips. And my next batch of fish tacos definitely will be topped with this. Four ingredients into the blender, and in less than 5 minutes, you'll have a salsa/dip that'll WOW folks. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Okay....Valerie, I'm a wuss ;-) I forgot how spicy the HERDEZ cooking sauces are. And no one could eat it as written. However, I loved the flavor it was just to darn hot. But because I was serving it to my kids, I needed to adjust the heat in it. I basically had to increase the avocado & Greek yogurt by 4 times what the original recipe stated but left the cooking sauce and cilantro the as is. Still had a great amount of heat without hurting my little ones and everyone enjoyed it but hubby. He wouldn't try it because of the avocados, but for me, making it the way I did, will be a keeper. And it still had it's creamy texture. I'm just glad this recipe is soo easy when it comes to evening the heat without losing the flavor. So it's a win win for the whimpiest heat seekers to the atomic bomb dropping eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Valerie, I don't have to buy my avocado salsa any more! Thank you so much! It's delicious and so fresh tasting! We like it a bit spicier so I added a tablespoon of chopped pickled jalapeno. Can't wait to try it on fish tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
DELICIOUS! I did only use about 8oz. of the tomatillo sauce b/c I wanted it to be more on the thicker/creamier side, and sour cream in place of the greek yogurt b/c I accidentally bought that instead (I could've sworn it said sour cream, lol). Great flavor and nice spicy kick. I really loved the creaminess that the avocado added. This would go great w/ just about anything...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Absolutely perfect. This Creamy Tomatillo Avocado Salsa is great as a dip and can be used as a topping for tacos, taco salads, enchiladas or any other Mexican recipe. I'm even going to try this on a burger. This delivered just the right amount of spicy heat for me. It took me longer to wash off and spin dry the cilantro than it did to make this recipe. The Greek yogurt works well and no doubt sour cream would work as well. This will be my go to dip and topping. I'm going to stock up on the Herdez Tomatillo Verde Cooking Sauce for this one. What a great recipe Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
When I saw this recipe posted on the main page, I was so intrigued that I went to the store, bought the ingredients and made it that night. It took me a few minutes to find the cooking sauce because I was just overlooking it among all of the salsas, but I eventually found it in the Hispanic foods section in Safeway. I thought it was really good, and very easy to prepare. It had a very small bit of spiciness to it, and I knew my husband liked a bit more of a kick, so I added a touch of cayenne pepper to it. I made tostadas, and poured the sauce over the top. So good. Honestly, I thought my husband would rave over it a bit more than he actually did, but he did mention that he liked it. We have a lot of it left over, so I'm going to use the rest as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I couldn't. Find the tomatillo cooking sauce so I used Herdez jarred Salsa Verde and used about 8 oz. this is a perfect balance between creamy and spicy. I used it as a condiment with shrimp. Well done, Valerie. We all enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
OK, so I didn't follow the recipe exactly...I used sour cream, not yogurt (already had sour cream in the fridge), and I added the sauce in increments so it wouldn't be too spicy for me and wound up using about half the jar. My husband and father-in-law really enjoyed this! Nice change over the usual guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe was an awesome twist on a traditional guac. Being from New Mexico, you'd think I'd be used to spicy stuff, but on the contrary, I am a spice wimp. Using the ingredients, but at different amounts, I'm not going to confess how little sauce I used and how much avocado and greek yogurt, but suffice to say I liked it, and my wimpy family loved it as well (Hubby would have prob liked it spicer, but he is always out voted when it comes to the amount of spice we use on things in this house). We ate it on shrimp tacos, and it was a huge hit. There's lots left over, and I'm sure it will be yummy on chips or veggies, or whatever else we find to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Wow. This is definitely a 5-star dish! I now know what I will bring to parties from now on. This dip was excellent and so easy to make! I started out with 1/2 a bottle of the Herdez tomatilla Verde sauce and kept it that way because it was perfect for us. The only problem was I have to stop myself from eating all of it. Thanks Valerie for a fantastic dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States