HERDEZ® Creamy Pasilla Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
The first statement I need to make is that I really love the new Herdez Cooking Sauces that are making their way to your grocery stores this week. If you are a recipe purist who thinks one should follow the recipe exactly, just stop reading now! I did make a few changes to this recipe. First of all, I used leftover flour tortillas from my freezer from the Tequila Party I hosted for AR friends in April! Then I used my leftover Roast Sticky Chicken (still a favorite from this site). I had some leftover Herdez Tomatillo Verde Cooking Sauce (my very favorite of the four new cooking sauces), so I used that along with a little beef broth (leftovers from my Drowned Beef Sandwich the other night). The corn I cut from the cob was very sweet, and that was a perfect complement to the spicy sauce. We loved this dinner. We didn't eat all that much because it is rich, but we did have a green salad to go along with it. Delicious! Totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Very good! As you can see, I really like color. In my decorating and in my cooking. Food can be art, and we eat with our eyes. Presentation is everything! I used chopped tomato for a nice contrast with the cilantro and sour cream. Tastes as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight, and I must say that this sauce has an authentic enchilada flavor. We really enjoyed it. I know that sour cream and olives would be great, but I served it with a simple fresh tomato salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I made these last night and they were very good. My husband liked them so much he wanted some of the leftovers for breakfast this morning. They were even better the next day. I normally like a bit more sauce but these were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Just got these out of the oven-very, very good. I loved the idea of putting the cheddar cheese on top to bake on-made it really good. The cooking sauce was excellent-will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Unfortunately these were not a big hit in my house. They were ok but not out of this world. The filling mix was missing something but my entire family couldn't name what. The corn was a unique addition. After 4 years in El Paso and the southwest I don't think I ever saw corn in an enchilada. The sauce mixture could also stand to be doubled. My entire family agreed it could use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Unfortunately, my husband doesn’t like spicy food so I rarely make Mexican food. This was my first attempt at making enchiladas, and it came out very well if I say so myself. I reduced the amount of HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Chile Mexican Cooking Sauce, but it still came out tasty, so much so, that my husband had seconds. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
4.5! My husband says 4, I say 5. I really like these and you had tough competition. Everyone loves my own enchiladas. I loved the addition of adding corn into the mix. I also made the mistake of using 8oz of cream cheese instead of 4oz. I wasn't upset about it though! My husbands complaint was that they were missing something, although he couldn't tell me what. (sorry, not helpful!) All and all, these were great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
My little dinner party tripled when the rain finally cleared enough to have the fireworks display tonight. I didn't have enough Pasilla sauce to make enough to feed everyone so I used the Herdez Chipotle sauce to make half of the enchiladas. I added a bit of chili powder, cumin and garlic powder as I sautéed the chicken. I served these with Mexican Rice II and guacamole. As my guests arrived they all commented on how good it smelled and they all agreed the food lived up to the promise of the aroma. Thank you, arich01, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I halved this recipe for just my husband and I and it made the perfect amount and we even had one left for another meal. I loved the ease of this recipe. I had one very large raw chicken breast I put in a stainless steel sauce pan with a few tablespoons of water and coated it in homemade taco seasoning, covered the pan and let it cook for about 15-20 minutes until it reached 165 degrees (turned out perfectly juicy) before chopping. I then added a little (about 2T) cream cheese to my filling mixture and sprinkled with a little taco seasoning and added some of the shredded cheese because when I tasted it I felt it needed something. When done baking I garnished with thinly chopped lettuce, tomato, black olives and sour cream. These were good but, as another reviewer mentioned, I think it was missing something but couldn't tell what. I think these would also be good with Herdez' Traditional Chipotle instead of the Pasilla. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

HERDEZ® Torta Ahogada with Chipotle Sauce

See how to put a simple Mexican twist on the steak sandwich with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States