HERB-OX® Bouillon Pork Chops with Burgundy Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I was nervous about trying this one, but it turned out well. I rubbed the meat with a salt/pepper/garlic powder mixture and then coated them in the mustard. I skipped the boullion cubes and subbed in 2 TBSP of chicken broth. We really enjoyed it and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My boyfriend made this recipe for me and it is awesome! Although, I think next time, we'll use one bouillon cube, as it was rather salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This turned out wonderful. Will definitely make this again. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was good. I did have to add a thickening agent to help with the sauce because it was just too runny. I also added the meat to the sauce for the last 5 minutes to stay warm in the sauce and to get more flavor. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made this recipe as it was listed... but I did thicken the wine sauce with corn starch. We loved it. I did not notice the salty taste as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I made this dish for my employer's birthday and she loved it. I made a few of the modifications that was recommended my some of the other reviewers such as onions with the mushrooms, using 1 cup of wine instead of water and skipping the bouillon. I don't eat meat, but would gladly recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
We found these porkchops to be extremely tender and tasty. I followed some of the suggestions in previous reviews and these are the changes I made to the original recipe: I rubbed the pork with garlic powder and black pepper before cooking; I used 3/4 cup red wine (I used the shiraz in my fridge) and 1/4 cup water; I used 1 1/2 envelopes of the Herb-Oz boullion (not the cubes); I added sprigs of fresh rosemary to the sauce; and I thickened the sauce at the end with about a tablespoon of corn starch. I recommend using the Herb-Ox brand boullion - it only had 5mg of sodium per unit, the boullion I had in my pantry had 810 mg. of sodium - this might explain why some reviewers found the pork so salty. Ours was delicious. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
blah and tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Modifications needed to be made when I accidentally bought the chicken bouillon cubes instead of the beef. – end result – the flavor was like a gourmet meal!!!! I use ¾ cups wine, ¾ cup beef broth, seasoned with a little garlic powder and seasoned salt. Added double the mushroom (hubby’s fave) and then at the end I used 1 Tbsp. cornstarch to thicken it up just a bit. The only complaint (by myself) is that the chops were so thick, it took approximately 50 minutes to cook them. Next time I will be butterflying them. This recipe is very very good and I will be making it again – a real special occasion meal!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This was delicious. After reading the reviews and having a few say it was salty, I increased the water to 3/4 cup and added flour to thicken the sauce. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States