HERB-OX® Bouillon Pork Chops with Burgundy Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I was nervous about trying this one, but it turned out well. I rubbed the meat with a salt/pepper/garlic powder mixture and then coated them in the mustard. I skipped the boullion cubes and subbed in 2 TBSP of chicken broth. We really enjoyed it and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My boyfriend made this recipe for me and it is awesome! Although, I think next time, we'll use one bouillon cube, as it was rather salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This turned out wonderful. Will definitely make this again. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was good. I did have to add a thickening agent to help with the sauce because it was just too runny. I also added the meat to the sauce for the last 5 minutes to stay warm in the sauce and to get more flavor. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made this recipe as it was listed... but I did thicken the wine sauce with corn starch. We loved it. I did not notice the salty taste as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I made this dish for my employer's birthday and she loved it. I made a few of the modifications that was recommended my some of the other reviewers such as onions with the mushrooms, using 1 cup of wine instead of water and skipping the bouillon. I don't eat meat, but would gladly recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
We found these porkchops to be extremely tender and tasty. I followed some of the suggestions in previous reviews and these are the changes I made to the original recipe: I rubbed the pork with garlic powder and black pepper before cooking; I used 3/4 cup red wine (I used the shiraz in my fridge) and 1/4 cup water; I used 1 1/2 envelopes of the Herb-Oz boullion (not the cubes); I added sprigs of fresh rosemary to the sauce; and I thickened the sauce at the end with about a tablespoon of corn starch. I recommend using the Herb-Ox brand boullion - it only had 5mg of sodium per unit, the boullion I had in my pantry had 810 mg. of sodium - this might explain why some reviewers found the pork so salty. Ours was delicious. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
blah and tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Modifications needed to be made when I accidentally bought the chicken bouillon cubes instead of the beef. – end result – the flavor was like a gourmet meal!!!! I use ¾ cups wine, ¾ cup beef broth, seasoned with a little garlic powder and seasoned salt. Added double the mushroom (hubby’s fave) and then at the end I used 1 Tbsp. cornstarch to thicken it up just a bit. The only complaint (by myself) is that the chops were so thick, it took approximately 50 minutes to cook them. Next time I will be butterflying them. This recipe is very very good and I will be making it again – a real special occasion meal!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This was delicious. After reading the reviews and having a few say it was salty, I increased the water to 3/4 cup and added flour to thicken the sauce. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States