Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Pretty goo! I made a "gyros" sauce to go with it, too -- if you really like the "gyros thing" -- I suggest making this to go with it: Mix some plain yougart, light sour cream, fresh mint, garlic salt, chopped cucumber, scallions, and tomato together. Put this over your burger. Voila! Pretty good, if I do say so myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Very, very good. The spice combination is spectacular. I put the mixture into my food processor to get a firmer texture. I then shaped into a very thin loaf and broiled in the oven. Slice very thinly and serve with pita, fried in olive oil, greek olives, roasted garlic and tzatziki sauce. Great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
It was really good. I have never been able to get that same taste like they have a those Gyros stands or greek restaurants till now. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
these were very good. I used 1.30 # ground sirloin only. Did not have the savory. Added 1/2 tsp. dried oregano as other reviewers suggested (thank you) and fresh chopped parsley to the mix. Left out the bread crumbs because didn't use lamb which adds more liquid (oil) to the mix. Was afraid they would be too dry using ground sirloin only. They were not at all dry. Mixed it up this afternoon and let it set for a few hours for the flavors to blend. Tasted much like gyro meat. Served in warmed onion pitas w/red onion slices, diced fresh tomatoes, and tziziki sauce. Thanks LatinaCook for the photo submission, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
What sort of Greek restaurants are people eating at if they think this is even remotely authentic OR taste like gyros. I've NEVER had problems with 5-star recipes. If our family disagrees about it being 5-stars... it still turned out to be a decent dish (just not our thing). Please consider a different Gyro recipe. I'll report back when I've discovered a better one, but this doesn't taste like gyros at all esp. if you're spoiled and have a good restaurant near you. I'm VERY easy to please, and my husband... not so much. Either way, we both didn't want to eat this. Followed the recipe exactly and even included the sauce people recommended. FWIW, the sauce tastes better w/o blending it. Blending it makes it too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very, very good. Meat tasted just like traditional gyro meat, it just didn't look like it. Will definitely make again. Made this with the Tzatziki Sauce I recipe (plus cucumber).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
added some feta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Pretty good. I couldn't find savory anywhere though. I grilled the patties on my foreman grill and i cut them in 4-5 slices each before putting them in the pita bread. (I used the tzatziki I sauce from this site and added 1/2 cucumber to it for a more authentic flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Outstanding! I pretty much followed the recipe, except I used all beef and pressed some onion into the meat mixture. I also cut the patties as suggested by a previous reviewer, and served on flatbread with red onion, tomato, lettuce, and tzatziki. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I will give this 5 stars since it is the best recipe I have come across and my family loved it! It was also easy. I however thought it needed something... not sure what, to make it taste like the ones from a restaurant. I will try again and experiment with this one. thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States