Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Mu husband wanted to have Greek night and this was the closest to lamb gyros I could find on this site. Followed the recipe exact (well, used 2/3c panko breadcrumbs in place of toast). We crumbled the burgers and stuffed into pita with tzatziki sauce from the Joy of Cooking. Made an orzo salad using the dressing "absolutely Fabulous Greek House Dressing" from this site. Hubby gave it all 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good as written for the burgers! I wish I could have found the savory, but like others I ended up substituting with oregano. I also tried making this in a loaf form for gyros, but made this way I would only give it 4 stars - only because we have a wonderful greek restaurant we love and this doesn't have quite the texture or flavor as what they serve for gyros. BUT this is not a gyro recipe, it is burger recipe and even the adaption to gyro meat is still really good and the closest I have come to making decent gyros myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
These were really very tasty. I did not have savory, so substituted oregano. I made rectangular patties and broiled them in the oven. Topped with my own "gyro" sauce (greek yogurt, chopped cucumber, dill, black pepper). My 5 y.o. said "yummy, yummy, yummy. This is awesome" as he downed 1.5 patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
OK, this ROCKED! I would decrease the onions, but ONLY because I have non-onion lovers in my house. OTHERWISE--- TOTALLY TASTES LIKE GYROS! The thinner you make the patties, the better the texture resembles gyros! Thanks for the recipe. I used the cucumber sauce from this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were great! I didn't change the recipe at all and they turned out delicious. I think next time I might crumble the meat after cooking instead of making patties. I think it would be easier to put into pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Delicious! Made a few changes. Didn't have Savory,substituted with Oregano. Omitted allspice and added a dash of cayenne for heat. Shaped into 2 inch wide and 5 inch patties and grilled on indoor grilled. Hubby won't stop talking about how DELICIOUS they were! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
A little bit messy if you add the sauce but SOOO worth it! I had to make some alterations to this. Instead of lamb I used ground pork because my supermarket didnt have lamb. Instead of making patties out of it I just cooked it like you would for spagetti. I made the sauce with plain yogurt, sour cream, fresh chopped mint, garlic salt and chopped tomato. I added monterey jack cheese and stuffed it all into the pita. Excellent! Now I am hoping they freeze and thaw well as I made this as premade lunches for my husband (but snuck one for myself when I was done) hehe! You definatly need to try this one at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanna Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Tastes just like gyros! I used only lamb - excellent spice combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Maine, USA
Living In: Penn Yan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
We thought this was just OK. I did not have any ground beef, so I made it with all ground lamb. We love lamb, so we thought if would be ok. The spice blend was tasty, but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I didn't want to make burgers, wanted more traditional Gyros so I used this recipe but the method from "Traditional Gyro Meat" to prepare the meat.It was really really yummy!!!Great blend of spices!!I just used about 1/8-1/4 cup of bread crumbs instead of toasting bread and making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Hughes Cormier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States