Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe pleasantly surprised me; really simple to make and really flavorful. My one suggestion would be to actually blend the onion and garlic before adding it to the meat to make it smoother. I definitely made my burgers way too thick this time, so making sure they are thin is also a plus. I served this with homemade tzatziki sauce (made using the tzatziki sauce I recipe here), in a pita with lettuce and onions and it tasted 100% like a gyro, but way more filling. Super tasty. Next time, I'm looking forward to taking some reviewers advice and blending the meat, baking it like a meatloaf, and then slicing it thinly. My mouth's watering just thinking of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Pretty good for beef gyros. A little dry but good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
OMG, wow!! I grew up in a greek neighborhood so I know what an authentic gyro tastes like. I was missing gyros since i moved away from the old neighborhood and came across this recipe. I mixed the meat and everything else together until well blended and instead of cooking it the way the directions told you i took a reviewers advice and shaped the meat into a loaf and baked it in the oven for about an hour. I let it cool completely and sliced it thin and served it in a pita with tzatziki sauce, tomatoes and red onion. This was fantastic!! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This turns out to be a very juicy burger. My husband added 7-spice to the meat mixture and the resulting flavor was simply mouthwatering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Really tasty burgers. I didn't have Savory and subbed Thyme + a pinch of Sage. Definately going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Not bad on its own merit, but it doesn't taste like any gyro I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These were delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of not including coriander and allspice, and the flavors were still wonderful. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My kids loved this so much that they were asking for a repeat within the same week! The second time we made this I doubled the batch and made meatball/slider sized portions and froze for a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These burgers have very good flavor. The only change I made was to use bread crumbs instead of a slice of bread. I mixed everything together in the morning and let the spices blend with the meat until I cooked the burgers for dinner. I made Peppy's pita bread and cucumber yogurt sauce (both from this site) to complete the gyros. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I think the photo and title are a bit misleading -- when you flatten the patties to 1/8-1/4 inch thin, you definitely don't get a burger experience (which is a good thing!). This was so good, but I would add a bit more of all the spices to get the "gyro" flavor. Also, grilling can make it a bit dry, but not sure how to avoid that -- I loved it anyway. Added thinly sliced dill pickles, tomatoes and lettuce with homemade tzatziki sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States