Gyros Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
It was really good. I have never been able to get that same taste like they have a those Gyros stands or greek restaurants till now. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I will give this 5 stars since it is the best recipe I have come across and my family loved it! It was also easy. I however thought it needed something... not sure what, to make it taste like the ones from a restaurant. I will try again and experiment with this one. thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Pretty goo! I made a "gyros" sauce to go with it, too -- if you really like the "gyros thing" -- I suggest making this to go with it: Mix some plain yougart, light sour cream, fresh mint, garlic salt, chopped cucumber, scallions, and tomato together. Put this over your burger. Voila! Pretty good, if I do say so myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Very, very good. The spice combination is spectacular. I put the mixture into my food processor to get a firmer texture. I then shaped into a very thin loaf and broiled in the oven. Slice very thinly and serve with pita, fried in olive oil, greek olives, roasted garlic and tzatziki sauce. Great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe also makes the best meatball sandwiches around! Just shape, bake and simmer in spaghetti sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Used ground turkey instead of the beef and lamb and tortilla crumbs for the bread (which made it wheat free/gluten free). Wonderful flavor! I ground the coriander seeds myself using a mortar and pestle--the aroma and added punch is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I was in a hurry and had to get off to a softball game, so I mixed them before we left and that allowed the flavors to blend. I didn't have dried savory, so I used some parsley and oregano this time and they were fine. Next time I would like to have the savory to compare the flavor. I served it with Tzatziki sauce and sliced tomato. My family wants to know when we will have them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I made this last night for dinner and my husband and I both loved it. I made the burgers oblong to fit on the pita and served it with tzatziki, red onion, tomato and cucumber. I also made a side of Greek Potato Salad and the two complemented each other very well. I will be making this again! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Loved it. Thanks so much. Have been looking for a recipe like this since I lived in Greece and had their version of "meatballs."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Wonderful. Just what I was looking for! Instead of grilling (which I'm sure would have made them taste even better) I cooked the patties on the stovetop. After cooking, I cut them into strips so they'd fit in the pita better. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States