Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This turned out great. I would recommend serving with Tzatziki sauce. In the future I am going to attempt to make four individual rolls instead of just one. The only change I made to the recipe was to use more dough than called for. I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I omitted the salt and made it like a calzone. I was unable to find ground lamb, so I substituted ground pork. My husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I used ground turkey since I don't like lamb, but this was good. My husband loved it. However, it was kind of hard to roll the dough with all the stuff on it, and it was still doughy in the middle after cooking. So next time I'm going to make it more like a calzone--place the filling on one side of the dough and then just fold it over before I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
EXCELLENT!! I am very critical on Authentic Gyros when I go out and have never had a recipe to make them at home. When I was short on time and saw this recipe - WOW was I surprised! Followed the recipe almost to the letter, maybe a little less cumin and a little more oregano and awesome!! Always double the garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This is great. I used Pillsbury pizza dough. I also used ground beef. Left out the olives and zucchini because of hubby. You have to use fresh ground pepper with this-NOT the stuff you find on the table-real ground peppercorns! That is what makes the flavor. Easy and great recipe. Going to add to our favorite list. Oh yeah, we used ranch dressing because I was lazy about making cucumber sauce. Worked well with the flavors as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Yumm-ee. I kind of made this my own recipe because of my pickiness. I used all ground sirloin, no zucchini or olives, and added extra feta. I also had some egg whites in the fridge that I brushed on the gyrolls to help the garlic powder really stick. I also used the cucumber sauce from Sean's falafel salad with the gyrolls. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Great!!! We have tried both lamb and pork and enjoyed them both. I do think that the lamb gives it that true Greek flavour though. Try it with homemade tzatziki sauce. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
We really enjoyed this! We love gyros sandwiches and this was a nice alternative. I will try a different pizza dough next time. I used Pillsbury and it was okay, but I would have liked it a little crustier. Trader Joe's has a pizza dough in their refrigerator section I will try next. This had great flavor. One of my daughters asked if we could have chunks of lamb next time instead of ground, so I might try that too. Tzaziki Sauce is a must! Thanks for the treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Good served with tzatziki or ranch dressing. I had trouble finding lamb, so I used hamburger and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This recipe is truly outstanding. I hadn't registered with allrecipes.com, but decided to in order to give this dish the review it deserves. One caution: 1 lb of pizza crust dough, when rolled out per the instructions, is really insufficient, and paper thin... I'll another 8 oz. of dough next time. Still, *fantastic* dish, went wonderfully with: - Pasta Side: Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne - Vegetable Side: Festive Onions - Dessert: Watergate Salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States