Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
The lamb in this was delicious. I had a little trouble with the bread dough - getting an even shape, but I would definitely use the recipe with pita bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This was easy to make and was very tasty. Nice flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
WAY TOO MUCH SALT!!!! I only added 1 tsp of salt and it was still too salty. The feta cheese is salty itself and the added salt was too much. I used pilsbury pizza dough in the can but the filling kept rolling out when i was rolling it, so i just folded it over like a calzone. I served it with a yogurt cucumber sauce, it needed it to mellow out the salt. I don't have any kids and my husband's only complaint was the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This was an immediate hit and ranks in my husband's top 10 of favorites. My 3 kids (3, 2, and 11 mo) loved it, but I don't know if all kids would. We needed to cut back on the salt and we found 2 t pepper too strong, but that aside, this is a family favorite now. It is the closest imitation of a gyro I've found, and it's easier to make. I also made the cucumber sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
This recipe was a hit! Prep was quick and simple. Pilsbury Pizza Crust in a tube makes this a snap! Don't skimp on the pepper (as I did) or you will loose the Gyro flavor. Lamb was tasty, but if it's not available at your local grocer, I think a lean hamburger/ground turkey mixture would work. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I omitted the salt and made it like a calzone. I was unable to find ground lamb, so I substituted ground pork. My husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This was really delicious! Even my 12 year old, who hates feta cheese, olives and zucchini loved it. Leftovers the next day were even better. I used hamburger instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Couldn't get lamb, so I used veal. Very unique taste. It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
I thought this recipe was excellent and if you like lamb and can find it, it is well worth it. I have also used ground pork and that was good too. I used the pizza roll in a tube and like that very much, but have also put it in pita bread and that was just as good. Topping it with Tzatziki is also worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States