Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I had to rig this recipe a little and use ground beef and cheddar cheese, but hubby and I were impressed. It tasted like pizza without the oil from the sauce. To cut down on the oil from the meat, I cooked it in a stack cooker (looks like a strainer with a whole dish under it to catch the grease-tupperware). I put mushrooms in it and used a pizza dough recipe from this site (what else??), and it was spectacular!! Yummers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was excellent. I followed another reviewer's idea and made individual portions with cresent dinner rolls. They were too difficult to "roll" so I made calzone-style. So easy and delicious! I couldn't find ground lamb so I used ground beef. Next time, I am going to search for the lamb to make a more authentic gyro. But nevertheless, this was really good and I will definintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is a definite keeper. I made this for a cocktail party and everyone raved about it. I made the homemade Tzatziki sauce from this site which was an excellent compliment to the recipe. I did need to cook them a lot longer than noted, but it was worth it. Even the leftovers tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This is definitely something different. I used ground turkey, but I think next time I’ll try pork or beef. I didn’t have enough pizza dough, so I just saved what wouldn’t fit, and I’ll try it in regular pita bread tomorrow. Also, I can’t imagine rolling the thing without making a huge mess, so instead I put the ingredients on one side and flopped the other side over. (Make sure the ends are pinched well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Loved it with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANOTHERTRIXIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
WOW!!! This was great...my family loved it including my 6 year old that dosen't try many new things. I did follow the advice of other's and cut the salt way down. Also, I omitted the olives and zucchini because I didn't think the kids would go for them. I was able to find ground lamb which I think is a must if you are trying to get a real gyro flavor. We couldn't believe how much this tasted like the "real thing". I did use pizza dough already prepared from the grocery store. I will make my own when I have more time in my bread machine. I doubled the recipe which left one whole "gyroll" left over for the next day. It tasted even better. I may use this in pita's another time and serve it with sliced onions and tomatoes like a typical "gyro" is served....and of course this wouldn't be complete without "tzatziki"...the one I tried from this site was not the greatest....I will have to work on a "tzatziki" like they serve in Greek restaurants....more sour cream than yogart is what I think makes the difference. Thank you for a GREAT new recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Incredibly yummy. I couldn't get any ground lamb, so I substitued ground turkey and it was fantastic. I did decrease the amount of salt and even so it was still a tad bit salty. Very satisfying--a new addition to the keeper list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This recipe was ok, but I didnt think it was fabulous. It tasted a bit like pizza with no sauce. I'm not sure what I was expecting but it was something a bit different than this. It was good, but I probably wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
We really enjoyed this! We love gyros sandwiches and this was a nice alternative. I will try a different pizza dough next time. I used Pillsbury and it was okay, but I would have liked it a little crustier. Trader Joe's has a pizza dough in their refrigerator section I will try next. This had great flavor. One of my daughters asked if we could have chunks of lamb next time instead of ground, so I might try that too. Tzaziki Sauce is a must! Thanks for the treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This is such a great recipe. I have made this for my boyfriend at least once a week after discovering it (at his urging). I have made it with both ground beef and ground turkey as I could not find ground lamb but I can't wait to try it with the lamb. I have omitted the zucchini and I have used an olive tapinade purchased in my local grocer to alleviate a bit of the prep time. It is good with any kind of flavored feta (tomato and basil, etc.) or just the plain stuff. Another thing is I leave out the salt all together as the olives and feta are salty enough all by themselves. Of course you should serve it with a yogurt/cucumber sauce, but you knew that already...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States