Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This recipe is really great. I took a hint from other reviewers and made little calzones with crescent roll dough. I also ended up just mixing the feta cheese and olives in with the cooked lamb because spreading each layer proved to be too tedious. I didn't have any zucchini, or hot pepper sauce, so I threw in a dash of cayenne instead. I think the recipe might call for too much black pepper, unless regular table pepper is more pungent than freshly ground. I can't say for the salt since I ran out. But all in all, really good, and fairly easy to make. It does taste like a gyro as far as I can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
My sons like this so much that I make double batches. Delicious! Works well as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I've had this recipe in my recipe box and when I saw some ground lamb at my local grocery store I had to try it. Actually, I just made the meat mixture, which is perfectly seasoned, and made gyros out of it with pita bread, lettuce, tomato, thinly sliced cucumber and tzatzki (cucumber sauce -- recipe available on this site, except I used sour cream instead of yogurt because I didn't have any plain yogurt). I love feta but I left it out because I didn't have any and with the meat being so nicely seasoned and the tzatzki, it wasn't even missed, though I am looking forward to trying this "gyro" with the feta. I served these gyros with baked potato wedges seasoned with greek seasoning. Everyone in the family liked this, even my two teenagers. They like gyros and thought this has a similar flavor to the ones they get at the mall. It was different and unusual and a nice change from our usual line-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Since I'm a vegetarian, I use fake meat crumbles in place of the lamb, and this is an amazing recipe. My husband and I love it with some tzatziki for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
We absolutely loved this. I used a basic, homemade pizza dough recipe and reduced the salt. I served it with homemade tzatziki (sp)and we felt it was perfect. It also reheats beautifully in the oven, so we were able to have this twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Absolutely Awesome!! I'm not one to like Greek food that much, so I was hesitant in trying this, but the entire family loved it! I used only half of the olives because my husband hates them, but to my surprise, he ate seconds without even realizing he was eating olives! This was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tylertown, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I made my own tried-and-true pizza crust, so I had more than enough, but I have to say that I'm relatively unimpressed. This is a recipie for a super-meat fan or a super-lamb fan -- one slice is a big gob of meat and the strong lamb flavor overpowers just about all the other ingredients. I also recommend using a very high quality feta because the cheaper stuff is a bit gritty when melted. I reduced the amount of salt (1 tsp instead of 2), as suggested by some posters here, and found it needed salt. And, ultimately, I thought this lacked the requisite "zing" of gyros. It's definitley a recipie I will futz with, but it's pretty ho-hum the way it is. My husband didn't even come close to finishing his small portion. Too rich and kind of "all one flavor." I'd say: half to 3/4 of the meat, increase oregano and cumin, keep salt at 2 tsp., maybe add lemon juice and/or mint to meat mixture, high-quality feta, increase olives and zuccinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I followed the recipe as written, but next time I'll make some changes. First, I will make my own pizza crust because the only kind I could find in a tube wasn't big enough to hold the filling. Second, I will make individual rolls. Third, I would add a lot more feta cheese... Mine certainly wasn't "mess-less", but mostly because I didn't have enough dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Very good flavor, but really beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
EXCELLENT!! I am very critical on Authentic Gyros when I go out and have never had a recipe to make them at home. When I was short on time and saw this recipe - WOW was I surprised! Followed the recipe almost to the letter, maybe a little less cumin and a little more oregano and awesome!! Always double the garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States