Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
The lamb in this was delicious. I had a little trouble with the bread dough - getting an even shape, but I would definitely use the recipe with pita bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Couldn't get lamb, so I used veal. Very unique taste. It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This was easy to make and was very tasty. Nice flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This was an immediate hit and ranks in my husband's top 10 of favorites. My 3 kids (3, 2, and 11 mo) loved it, but I don't know if all kids would. We needed to cut back on the salt and we found 2 t pepper too strong, but that aside, this is a family favorite now. It is the closest imitation of a gyro I've found, and it's easier to make. I also made the cucumber sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This was delicious, but as others said, way too salty. I will use maybe 1/2 teaspoon salt next time. The flavor was amazing, and I used the 'Pizza Dough' recipe (the no rise one) found on this website, as well as the cucumber sauce from the Grilled Gyro Burger recipe. God, SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This is fantastic. I couldn't find ground lamb so I used ground pork. I omitted the onion, hot pepper sauce, and zucchini. I used fresh dough made in my bread machine instead of pizza crust dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This was really delicious! Even my 12 year old, who hates feta cheese, olives and zucchini loved it. Leftovers the next day were even better. I used hamburger instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This was soooo good -- and so filling. I will be enjoying it for days. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I love this sandwich, I really do love making it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
I thought this recipe was excellent and if you like lamb and can find it, it is well worth it. I have also used ground pork and that was good too. I used the pizza roll in a tube and like that very much, but have also put it in pita bread and that was just as good. Topping it with Tzatziki is also worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States