Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I didn't have time to make pizza dough so I made this with some fillo pastry sheets that needed using up. It worked out well. The meat filling is absolutely delicious! (I probably tripled the cumin and oregano called for as we like a lot of flavor). I haven't eaten lamb in 20 years, but this definitely made me want to try other ground lamb dishes! Great recipe, Adam! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I have made this 3-4 times, and it pleases everybody - from my wife, who has exotic tastes, to my parents, who have fairly conservative midwestern palates. It is critical to have a good pizza dough recipe (worth its weight in gold for this kind of stuff), which I fortunately have...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This recipe is truly outstanding. I hadn't registered with allrecipes.com, but decided to in order to give this dish the review it deserves. One caution: 1 lb of pizza crust dough, when rolled out per the instructions, is really insufficient, and paper thin... I'll another 8 oz. of dough next time. Still, *fantastic* dish, went wonderfully with: - Pasta Side: Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne - Vegetable Side: Festive Onions - Dessert: Watergate Salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
The exact recipe, I guess I would really give a 3.5-4. We are picky about doughy bread, and it doesn't seem possible to get the center cooked w/o burning the outside, so we put it in pitas. Leave out the salt. Many reviews confused me after making it because they said it was salty. I don't cook w/salt because of health issues. I also replace pepper w/paprika because I can't stand the taste of black pepper. We also use 93% lean ground turkey for economical, health, and nature conservation reasons. I add 1-2tsp beef bullion and liquid smoke when substituting turkey. And definitely better w/Tzaziki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This is a great recipe however I forgo the zucchini and add mushrooms into the meat mixture. It also works perfectly with ground beef instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
The Gyroll is so yummy and so easy. I think I like the Gyros Burgers recipe on this website a bit better, but I prefer this when I am short on time. It goes well with the Tzatziki Sauce II recipe (just make sure to drain the yogurt in cheesecloth for a couple hours before making it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I followed this recipe and it turned out super salty. I will try it again but I'm not using any salt What did I do wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I have made this about 3 or 4 times and have never had the dough cook all the way through before some of it started to get too done. The meat and seasonings are wonderful, so we have resorted to putting them in large greek pitas instead of the dough roll way here. i love that idea, just can't get it to work for me. i always use cucumbers instead of zucchini and use the recipe for Raita on this site to dip it in/top it with. Oh, i've only used lamb once, it's hard for me to find, pork works great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Very good recipe and not too difficult. I agree with other viewers that this is great when served with Tzatziki sauce. I've even tried this recipe with ground turkey and it's quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This turned out great. I would recommend serving with Tzatziki sauce. In the future I am going to attempt to make four individual rolls instead of just one. The only change I made to the recipe was to use more dough than called for. I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States