Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was super tasty! I really loved all of the flavors this combined. I made and used my own pizza dough, and it just came out delicious. It's so easy and so worth it to make, I'm sure I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
this was a great recipe...it also freezes well but i did make one change after reading other reviews..i made it calzone style....yummy this is a family favorite...thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe is fantastic!!! I make it at least once a week and my family love it. Everyone looks forward to gyroll night! The only variations I make are that I make sure to drain the cooked meat mixture on some paper towels before I wrap it in the dough and I don't use the olives or the zucchini because I don't like olives and I usually forget to buy zucchini when I'm at the supermarket. I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BACHELORETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This was very good but I altered it a bit to fit my ingredients on hand. I don't eat lamb so I used chip steaks and chopped them up in the pan really good, they worked great! I also ran out of Feta so I used good ol' American cheese. Again, great. This would probably be good with all sorts of veggies too. I agree with other reviewers who said there was too much filling for the dough. Next time I will use two pizza crusts. The idea and the taste are great and it is fairly easay to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Made as instructed and this wasn't bad. The filling was a lot more then my pizza dough could handle, so make sure your surface is floured or greased so you can roll it effortlessly. The inside had a lot of dough after I had cooked it, but the outside was very crisp and flavorful. This dish was pretty tasty, but it requires some practice. Next time I'll make this more like a stromboli so I don't have to deal with the rolling issues, although I liked being able to just pick it up like a sandwich. My wife and I added some Tzatziki sauce, a few beers and it was a pretty good summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
One of our favorites! We love this, and it's pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Well, the taste was good. The whole pizza dough, rolling, ect- was a MESS. It was hard and the ingredients were moist so they began to seep through the dough. It was a BIG mess. If I try this again, I would use something like already made pitas or something similiar. The filling was good, the outer shell idea- BAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
little wet. easier to through mix into a pita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I used shredded Skirt Steak since I couldnt find lamb. This was excellent !! I only used half the olives and the kids loved it!! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
It was edible, and something different, but will not make the recipe rotation. It's not in the same class as a true Gyro. The dough on the bottom and that rolled inside was too doughy, and the garlic powder sprinkled on top gave a burned garlic taste. I'm sure this recipe has potential, but I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States