Gyroll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
tastes fine. much easier to just make a pizza with whatever ingredients you want on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I thought this was okay. I used the ground lamb and followed the recipe fairly closely (just used flavored feta at the end as that is what I had in the fridge) but I guess I was really expecting more of a gyro taste. Taste improves if served with Tzatziki sauce (recipe on this site). My husband like it. I may try it again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The meat was great but the pizza dough didn't turn out the way I had hoped. Next time I will use a puff pastry or pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made the individual calzones using refrigerated pie crust. The best part of this recipe is the delicious seasoning used for the meat. I used ground lamb for the recipe, but I think it would also make delicious seasoning for ground beef for tacos and other recipes. I also froze the extra (uncooked) calzones in the freezer on a baking sheet and have since put them right in the oven from the freezer. They baked up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My husband said this was the BEST thing I've ever made from this site (and I've made A LOT!) I replaced the olives with tomato and mushrooms. Soooo good! However, a calzone style might work better for picking it up with your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Delicious flavors, but not an ideal format. I essentially followed the recipe as written. Minor modifications: I reduced the salt and pepper by half (still too salty), I used Kalamata olives in a lower quantity than suggested, used 7 oz. feta as that is what was in the package, and used Vidalia onion as suggested by others. The pizza dough was fresh from my supermarket. The rolling process wasn't too tricky, but the result wasn't worth the trouble. The innermost dough wasn't well-cooked, the filling was too dry, and it was too messy to eat out of hand. The same ingredients might be better used for individual-sized calzone-style pockets, and I am definitely going to redo this recipe as a pizza, with a bit of mozzarella and some diced tomato so it won't be too dry. I made Yia Yia's tzatziki from this site, which was an excellent complement to the dish, and served it with a simple tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
yum!! definitely serve with tzatziki... it is so worth it if you can get the ground lamb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zencake
Home Town: Lemmon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Glendive, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is outstanding. I didn't have any issues with uncooked dough in the center. I used Trader Joe's ready made pizza dough and rolled it out the full 12" by 18" size. I used all lamb and instead of parsley, I added half a bag of frozen spinach (cooked and the excess water squeezed out). I also used an egg wash and sprinkled dried parsley and sumac on top for color. I served it with Trader Joe's cucumber yogurt sauce on the side and the Mediterranean Medley Salad from this site. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This recipe has prompted my first review. These were positively scrumptious!!! I am a very picky eater, and I absolutely loved this recipe! It's 5:30 the morning after, and I'm going to heat one up for breakfast. Can't wait! I HATE onions, but I used a Vidalia, finely chopped (minced, actually)and it gave the meat a nice flavor. I used 1/2 lamb and 1/2 ground beef, but next time it will be all lamb. Delicious! Changes: I used two Pillsbury thin crust pizza dough, extra feta cheese,cut salt to 1 tsp. and parsley to 1/2 c , omitted black olives and zucchini. These only need to bake at 350 for 20 to 25 minutes. Don't forget the Yia Yia's Tzatzizi sauce from this site. I served with Grilled Greek-Style Zucchini from this site also. A truly fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States