Gypsy Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Truly awesome! Note that different sherry's have different strengths in taste, you might want to taste it before adding the last bit of sherry. Also remember if your going to make a large batch and leave it in the fridge for a few days, it will get spicier as the chillies sit in the stew. I did this in a slow cooker, to really get the richness of the flavor. I filled the pot with chicken stock and sherry in the same proportionate amount, but enough to make sure the chicken was covered. First I slow cooked the chicken on low in the broth for 3 hours before adding the other ingredients. The recipe suggests only quartering the onion, but since I wanted to leave the onion in the soup I cut into more comfortable bite size pieces. Next, I peeled 10 garlic cloves (slow cookers require increasing the aromatics). I threw these into a pan and cooked on medium high, covered, until the onions started "sweating". This releases a lot of the oils inside them before they enter the lower temperature of the slow cooker letting them penetrate better. When there was two hours left I added the tomatoes. I also added the chili. Tomatoe cook faster then onion and garlic. In the last hour I added the 2 tsp thyme, and 1/2 tablespoon of thyme olive oil we had made. I tasted it to see if it needed anymore chili, and decided it was fine. Wonderful winter soup, so nice to have after a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was great!! The sherry added a wonderful flavor. As suggested by other reviewers, I used 1 can diced green chili's and 1 can diced fire-roasted tomatoes. I used 4 hindquarters (what I had on hand). Instead of pouring over rice, I added 1/2 cup barley in the last hr of simmering to help thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
fantastic. i almost had to stop myself from eating all the chicken while i was peeling it off the bones. i highly recommend making it in a pressure cooker because then your hour of simmering goes down to 20-25 minutes of pressure cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe! Instead of baking my own green peppers, I used one small can of chopped hot green peppers and it was perfect. The chicken meat was moist and delicious with a fantastic broth. Next time I might try chicken breast without skin to decrease the fat, but it was excellent with a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was the best soup I've ever had. My boyfriend and his grandpa are always asking me to make more. We had a house full of sick people recently, so I decided to tweak the recipe a little. On those days we don't have wine or sherry, I add about a cup of tequila and some grand marnier. It's a magical sinus-clearing soup that makes you feel REALLY happy afterwards. Thank you for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
OMG! This is DELICIOUS! I have three kids who never all like something and this totally pleased them all. I only did a few things "different" but not really. I used ~4 lbs chicken thighs, removed the skin beforehand. 1 small can chopped green chiles. 1 can diced tomatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipes exactly. Also, I served it in a bowl over some twist noodles. Soooo good. This is something I'm going to make often. Thank you, CBASS, for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We found this to be really bland. Tons of salt and pepper needed and yet still bland. Definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I would have to give this 3 stars as is, but next time I make this I will add less sherry in the end and substitute remaining liquid with chicken stock. The 30 mins of simmering the alcohol out just wasn't enough and it tasted like I could get drunk from it. My hubby didn't eat it until the next day when it was much better and the alcohol was completely simmered out, but he still complained about the overpowering sherry taste. Good recipe though with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Could not have made a better meal while being stranded in the house all day because of a blizzard! I had to use what I had on hand so I substituted a small can of fire roasted tomoatoes for the four fresh, a tiny can of diced chilies for the four fresh green chile peppers, and mozzerella cheese instead of Monterey Jack. Still came out perfect! I made a pot of white rice and scooped some into each bowl before ladeling with stew and topping with a sprinkle of cheese. My six-year-old loved it despite being a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used chicken breasts and what I had: large can of diced tomatoes, can of diced green chilies, mozzarella cheese and it tasted great! The flavour of the sherry is hard imagine initially, but it does give the stew a deep flavour. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States