Gypsy Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was outstanding! All the flavors blended perfectly. I was afraid the sherry would be overpowering, but it wasn't at all. I used poblano peppers (couldn't find regular chile or "aneheim" peppers, believe it or not)..they turned out great...they are nice and fleshy and complimented it well. Also I used a large can of peeled whole tomatoes cut in half, fresh vine-ripes were $3.99 per lb. I opted for the $1.99 can, and it was just fine. I topped with shredded jack cheese and a little cilantro over white rice to soak up the broth. We also enjoyed a nice cold ale with it, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
My whole family LOVED this! We substituted chicken breast to lower fat, and served over rice. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have been making this recipe for about 2 years now. Became a member just so I could finally rate this recipe. Absolutely delicious--a husband favorite! Thanks Colleen for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I have to admit that I was dubious about using so much sherry (especially in combination with the chile peppers), but this was really wonderful! The broth had a great depth to it. Given the high fat, sodium, and calorie content, though, we gave it four out of five stars. A good one for those indulgent days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
If you like it spicy, you will love this! I substituted 6 breast with bone in and skin. Otherwise I followed it verbatim. The only real challenge for me was skinning the peppers. I find that roasting for about 30 minutes seems to make it easier to peel, much longer and it is too difficult peeling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe! Instead of baking my own green peppers, I used one small can of chopped hot green peppers and it was perfect. The chicken meat was moist and delicious with a fantastic broth. Next time I might try chicken breast without skin to decrease the fat, but it was excellent with a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was the best soup I've ever had. My boyfriend and his grandpa are always asking me to make more. We had a house full of sick people recently, so I decided to tweak the recipe a little. On those days we don't have wine or sherry, I add about a cup of tequila and some grand marnier. It's a magical sinus-clearing soup that makes you feel REALLY happy afterwards. Thank you for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We found this to be really bland. Tons of salt and pepper needed and yet still bland. Definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is absolutely the best chicken soup/stew I have ever tasted. It is hearty and glorious! Don't scrimp on the sherry or the chili peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Could not have made a better meal while being stranded in the house all day because of a blizzard! I had to use what I had on hand so I substituted a small can of fire roasted tomoatoes for the four fresh, a tiny can of diced chilies for the four fresh green chile peppers, and mozzerella cheese instead of Monterey Jack. Still came out perfect! I made a pot of white rice and scooped some into each bowl before ladeling with stew and topping with a sprinkle of cheese. My six-year-old loved it despite being a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States