Gypsy Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
My whole family LOVED this! We substituted chicken breast to lower fat, and served over rice. A new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
If you like it spicy, you will love this! I substituted 6 breast with bone in and skin. Otherwise I followed it verbatim. The only real challenge for me was skinning the peppers. I find that roasting for about 30 minutes seems to make it easier to peel, much longer and it is too difficult peeling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Simple, but good--the roasted chile gives it a bit of a kick in the back of the throat. Serve with crackers or tortilla strips--you'll get something pretty similar to most tortilla chicken soups (I mean that as a compliment). You could probably top with a slice of avocado and cotija cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I have to admit that I was dubious about using so much sherry (especially in combination with the chile peppers), but this was really wonderful! The broth had a great depth to it. Given the high fat, sodium, and calorie content, though, we gave it four out of five stars. A good one for those indulgent days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is absolutely the best chicken soup/stew I have ever tasted. It is hearty and glorious! Don't scrimp on the sherry or the chili peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Excellent! I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have been making this recipe for about 2 years now. Became a member just so I could finally rate this recipe. Absolutely delicious--a husband favorite! Thanks Colleen for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
What an exciting combination of flavors! Thanks for a delicious and different meal,Colleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a nice-tasting stew with delicate flavors. We enjoy white meat, so I used 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts rather than a whole chicken. I wasn't sure what kind of green chile pepper to use so got 4 Anaheims and that was perfect; there was not an indication in the recipe how long it would take to bake & blacken them, but mine were in the oven for about an hour; toward the end I turned the broiler on to get them going a little faster. It is a bit of a trick to peel them at that point, so I just ended up dumping the stems and seeds and scraping the insides of the chiles into the broth; these gave a hint of heat and nice flavor. I added about 1.5tsp salt to the broth (I used low-sodium broth!) Served with grated Monterey Jack cheese and a garnish of cilantro, alongside toasted "French Country Bread" & "Garlic Butter", both from this website. Thank you, Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is how much I LOVE this recipe - I took some to work for breakfast, and printed the ingredients so I can make another one tonight. By far the best chicken stew I have ever made. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States