Gypsy Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I did not use the full 2.5 cups of sherry, as I live in the buckle of the bible belt and all I can get without driving 16 miles is cooking sherry and it comes in a 12 oz bottle. That being said, I filled in the rest of the liquid with stock, used one whole chicken breast and 3 boneless skineless thighs from the freezer and this is the best broth I have ever tasted. I almost did not add the chiles and tomatoes because it tasted quite good before the addition. The kids are a little bit freaked out at the large pieces of onion and tomato though... I will definetly make again, but maybe chop things smaller next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Really good stuff!! I couldn't find the pepper the recipe called for so I purchased jalapeno peppers and the stew was not spicy at all... So I was a tad disappointed, but it was my fault. The chicken was so tender, it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My husband loves this recipe.. We even gave this to one of our friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I LOVE this stew. I serve it with tortillas (either fresh or crunchy). I sprinkle Monterey Jack cheese in the bowl, scoop the soup over it and sprinkle strips of crunchy tortillas on top. Sour cream will reduce the spiciness as will the amount of cheese. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I love this recipe, the flavors are so intense! The only things I would change is I cut the pepper ammount in half ( it can make it very very spicy if you use too many) and I added rosemary and thyme for taste(about one tablespoon of each) I also added about one more cup of sherry and one extra cup of chicken stock. Not something for a picky eater though, but we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Excellent blend of flavors! Kudos to this cook. Suggested changes: cut onions smaller/use 3 Anaheim & 1 Jalapeno peppers(use gloves!)/broth tasted much better before final addition of sherry-either increase sherry & chicken broth at beginning, or just don't add additional 1-1/2 C Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was outstanding! All the flavors blended perfectly. I was afraid the sherry would be overpowering, but it wasn't at all. I used poblano peppers (couldn't find regular chile or "aneheim" peppers, believe it or not)..they turned out great...they are nice and fleshy and complimented it well. Also I used a large can of peeled whole tomatoes cut in half, fresh vine-ripes were $3.99 per lb. I opted for the $1.99 can, and it was just fine. I topped with shredded jack cheese and a little cilantro over white rice to soak up the broth. We also enjoyed a nice cold ale with it, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is how much I LOVE this recipe - I took some to work for breakfast, and printed the ingredients so I can make another one tonight. By far the best chicken stew I have ever made. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a nice-tasting stew with delicate flavors. We enjoy white meat, so I used 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts rather than a whole chicken. I wasn't sure what kind of green chile pepper to use so got 4 Anaheims and that was perfect; there was not an indication in the recipe how long it would take to bake & blacken them, but mine were in the oven for about an hour; toward the end I turned the broiler on to get them going a little faster. It is a bit of a trick to peel them at that point, so I just ended up dumping the stems and seeds and scraping the insides of the chiles into the broth; these gave a hint of heat and nice flavor. I added about 1.5tsp salt to the broth (I used low-sodium broth!) Served with grated Monterey Jack cheese and a garnish of cilantro, alongside toasted "French Country Bread" & "Garlic Butter", both from this website. Thank you, Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
What an exciting combination of flavors! Thanks for a delicious and different meal,Colleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States