Gyoza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Awesome. But I added more spices on my second batch because I added more cabbage, bringing it up to the recipe levels. Definitely will make again. Husband said they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I tried this. The recipe mixture itself is absolutely delicious and tastes just like the japanese restaurant, however, cooking the pork first makes for VERY difficult wonton filling of the gyoza. I have now looked up youtube videos and virtually every single one doesn't cook the meat first! I struggled and struggled filling and finally gave up. I wound up with about 10 workable gyozas. The rest is now in my fridge and I'm not sure what to do with it, other than just eat it or maybe make soup. Be forwarned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This recipe was easy to make but very bland. I quite enjoyed wrapping these, it was a lot of fun. Next time I will try another recipe for the filling, though. We watched the gyoza "Cooking with Dog" tutorial on youtube and mastered frying the gyoza on the second test try. This recipe needs at the very least salt and pepper. I wish I had realized this before making all of these! More than half of them are in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
good but nothing like you get at a teriyaki place
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous, that's all I can say. I did add some fresh grated ginger to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Gyoza Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
These are FABULOUS! We had Japanese Night for dinner yesterday. My grandma was over and these were a huge hit. I've had Gyoza in Chinatown and at an Asian Bistro, and wanted to make my own... They're really my favorite! Anyway, these tasted SO good. The only thing I left out were the carrots, as I'm a picky teen and dislike cooked carrots. I also had to use square Wonton Wraps, which made folding a bit tricky. My only problem with this was that because the meat was cooked, it was difficult to wrap because t kept falling apart (the filling). If you can make a version of this that cooks the meat after it's in the wrapper (I've seen them around), then I will give you five stars. I also thought the filling should have stuck together more like in the restaurants, and it was a teeny bit bland, so next time I will add soy sauce or other spices. I'm frying up the rest of my gyozas today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gyoza Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe, it was as a birthday meal for my father, who had recently traveled to Japan and fell in love with the food. It takes a loooong time to make, but wow is it worth it! My now 7 year old daughter loves to sit with me and spend the hour or so it takes putting these together (we usually make around 100) and we freeze what we don't eat that night. Very, very worth the amount of time it takes! I've found that any sort of vegetable works well: spinach, carrots, zucchini, etc (all very finely chopped) works just as well as the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
After reading the reviews, I decided to leave my meat and veggies uncooked... I grated the carrots, added ginger, added the sesame oil directly into the meat, and used ground turkey instead of pork. I tried them steamed and then just fried and preferred them fried without steaming. The meat and veggies were done after frying a couple of minutes on each side. They were delicious! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlieMay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I like this but when our family lived in Japan our Japanese Maid taught us how to make it and it was always fried and came out crunchy. This recipe is more like a potsticker becaused it is steamed after frying. The only other thing we add is green onion. Wantons are a little different then real Gyoza Skins which are hard to find here in Texas, but when I can't find them I do used the wontons which are available in every grocery store in town. I have used ground pork, ground chicken and ground beef and they are all good but I always cook the pork or chicken first then mix with the egg yolk & veggies and hand roll into portion size to fix the wanton due to the wanton will cook on the outside before the inside is cooked to a safe tempature. I don't worry about cooking the beef since I like my been medium well anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I followed some of the suggestions from other reviewers: added grated ginger root and water chestnuts and used green onion. Shredded all of the vegetables. Skipped the egg. Served with homemade plum sauce; it made a very tasty snack. Next time will double the recipe and freeze some. Thanks for sharing, Mersi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States