Guyanese Lime Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
SO GOOD THAT YOU REALLY NEED TO DOUBLE THE BATCH. LOVE THE LIME PUNCH THAT THEY GIVE OFF. The next time I make them I may try adding more lime. Only complaint is that the recipe was rather difficult to follow but after making them once they are going to be so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DomesticFemme
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
These were GOOD! I don't tend to waste my time on cookies that lack chocolate, but I had extra limes on hand that I needed to use. I read other reviewer's posts, wherein they stated that the cookie was quite crumbly - I like mine chewy, so I added in an egg yolk and sifted the flour. Measuring out the lime juice and zest was more effort than I felt like putting forward, so I just used the zest and juice from 1 lime, poured them into my small Ninja, along with the cup of sugar, 3/4 cup of cold butter, and one egg yolk. I blended them for about a minute, until the zest was chopped into smaller pieces (I h-a-t-e chewing on rind), and the butter and sugar were creamed together. The dough was formed into 1in. balls, and rolled into 1/4c. sugar, 1/4 teaspoon each of nutmeg and cinnamon. I baked them at 350 fegress for 12 minutes. They seemed undercooked when I took them out, and were SUPER soft when still warm. After they completely cooled, they were kind of dry and crisp on the outer part and still chewy in the middle. Excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticFemme

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Wonderfully different cookie! After reading the reviews stating that this is a very crisp cookie, I decided to take them out of the oven at 9 minutes. They turned out just perfect, crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. I can't think of anything I would change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikiBF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These are great! They are simple yet refreshing, and easy to make. They are my go-to when I don't have a lot of time but I want to make a cookie that I know people will love. I have gotten a lot compliments on them! In summertime I have served them with coconut sorbet - yum! Sometimes I increase the lime juice and/or the spices a bit, but make no mistake you really don't have to change the recipe at all to get a delicious cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
It is Father's Day on Sunday, and my dad mentioned that he hadn't had lime cookies in a long time. I immediately went to all recipes and looked up "lime cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great easy recipe, doubled the amount of lime zest, added teaspoon of ground cardamom and used freshly grated nutmeg. A totally delicious tangy, spicy cookie that will be made again and again., especially as lime tree has just given up its crop to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
started making this, then realised I did not have enough plain flour. Substituted with half almond meal. Then no baking powder...used baking soda in 1/3 measures to baking powder recipe....then no white sugar...used brown sugar...made the portions too big and they are saucer like...really yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These taste great. I did have one problem, the dough was a little dry. I made them exactly to the recipe, without deviation. The dough was too dry. I usually bake in batches of 5. As I went along, the later batches got so dry I had to moisten my hands to get them to stay together. Other than that, the cookies are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My first ever success with baking cookies! As a British person not from the "cookie" tradition I've tried so many cookie recipes, which all turned out looking and tasting like flattened cup cakes ... Finally with this recipe I realised, if you don't want cake don't use eggs. Simple once you know! These cookies taste great, a lovely exotic lime flavour, but not overpowering. I made them exactly as the recipe, the only thing I did find, was I halved the quantity (in case I made 48 disasters) and the reduced quantity only made 12, not 24 as I expected. That's not a problem though - will just make another batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States