Guyanese Lime Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
It is Father's Day on Sunday, and my dad mentioned that he hadn't had lime cookies in a long time. I immediately went to all recipes and looked up "lime cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great easy recipe, doubled the amount of lime zest, added teaspoon of ground cardamom and used freshly grated nutmeg. A totally delicious tangy, spicy cookie that will be made again and again., especially as lime tree has just given up its crop to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
started making this, then realised I did not have enough plain flour. Substituted with half almond meal. Then no baking powder...used baking soda in 1/3 measures to baking powder recipe....then no white sugar...used brown sugar...made the portions too big and they are saucer like...really yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These taste great. I did have one problem, the dough was a little dry. I made them exactly to the recipe, without deviation. The dough was too dry. I usually bake in batches of 5. As I went along, the later batches got so dry I had to moisten my hands to get them to stay together. Other than that, the cookies are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My first ever success with baking cookies! As a British person not from the "cookie" tradition I've tried so many cookie recipes, which all turned out looking and tasting like flattened cup cakes ... Finally with this recipe I realised, if you don't want cake don't use eggs. Simple once you know! These cookies taste great, a lovely exotic lime flavour, but not overpowering. I made them exactly as the recipe, the only thing I did find, was I halved the quantity (in case I made 48 disasters) and the reduced quantity only made 12, not 24 as I expected. That's not a problem though - will just make another batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I enjoyed these, and they were easy enough to make. They were ready to come out of the oven after 10 mins. Somehow, they lacked excitement. Perhaps making them a bit bigger, adding macadamia nuts or incorporating a sugar topping would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Best & most unique cookie I have ever had...LOVED it!!!! Made a half batch & added zest from one lime (wasn't sure if they're supposed to be packed) and all other ingredients as written when scaled to a half batch. We're a bit crumbly & hard to form, so I sprinkled a few drops of water with my fingers as needed to get the dough to hold together. Phenomenal cookie & very addicting....definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I love the contrast of the lime with the nutmeg and cinnamon to add a bit of warmth. They are perfect as written, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Buttery good. The dough freezes very well so you can slice and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good cookies! I added 1 egg to the batter for extra softness, and took them out of the oven at 10 minutes, then let them cool on the pan. Perfect soft cookies with a slight golden brown bottom. Used 1 tbsp of dough per cookie. Made half the amount of the sugar mixture, but would make all of it next time: it was just the right amount, but it's easier to roll them with more. These spread out a little but only to about twice the size of the dough ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States