Guy Approved Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made this last night for DH and my mom. The only change I made was adding italian style bread crumbs since I was out of crackers. I used the last part of a bag of Cape Cod Sea Salt and Cracked Black Pepper flavored chips. It was awesome! My DH (lover of all things meatloaf) proclaimed this "the best meatloaf I have ever had!" I swear there was a tear in his eye! All evening after dinner he would sniff the air (it did smell wonderful) and say "boy that meatloaf was good!" I suspect that at lunch time DH and my mom will be trying to outwit each other to make a sandwich out of the last piece. I only hope that before they hurt each other they realize that I snuck it out in my lunch bag when I left for work this morning. (insert diabolical laugh here)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Oh my gosh, this was incredible! I'm not even that much of a meatloaf person, but I am now. Sooooo moist and flavorful. I followed the advice of some of the other recommendations and slathered on a bunch of extra BBQ sauce under the bacon (heaven), used seasoned breadcrumbs instead of crushed crackers (fabulous), upped the spices as I do with everything and only cooked it for about an hour. It was perfectly done, and everyone who ate it was obsessed about getting the recipe from me. Also, for a novice/fearful chef like me, it was super-easy to make, and hard to screw up which is always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Excellent recipe. My wife was so impressed with the way the meatloaf turned out that she wants me to continue making it this way.I didn't use any liquid smoke because I didn't have any, but I did use both Lays BBQ chips and original Lays.And I also used Cattlemen's Classic BBQ sauce and cooked the bacon first separate from the meatloaf. Towards the last ten minutes of cook time I layered the bacon over the top and added shredded mild cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This recipe rocks! I tried this recipe three times b4 deciding on the alterations that I liked best. I used 1.25 lbs ground Bison, not ground beef. No onion, crackers or potato chips. Used 1 cup plain bread crumbs. Increase to 1.5 tsp liquid smoke flavoring. Increase to 1 tsp ground black pepper. Decrease to 1/4 tsp salt. FYI for the beef lovers in your family: Bison tastes like beef only much more flavor, more intense. Bison are healthier b/c they can't live contained. They must eat on the free range. Bison are leaner too. The first two times I made this recipe, I used beef. The meatloaf was great, but... then I did the same recipe with Bison, and the meat loaf was AMAZINGly tender, lean, tasty! It was super great! I bought my ground bison at the Whole Foods Market, an organic grocery chain store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Recipe works great as is - but I use one pound of ground beef, bread crumbs instead of crackers, and no bacon to cut down on the calories. Hubby loves it. Note that you need to use a chip like Lays since higher quality chips don't disentegrate and get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
WOW!, the whole family really liked this one. My husband is NOT a huge fan of meatloaf and he actually took leftovers to work. My four year old son also asked the next morning if he could have it for lunch. I will absolutly be using this one again. I did pour some BBQ sauce over the top then put the bacon on. I have recommended this to many people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Mr. LTH really enjoyed this meatloaf (me, not so much, but just due to personal tastes-I'm not much of a BBQ flavorish fan). I made as is, except I made/cooked in a muffin tin, rather than in a loaf (cut bake time in half-about 35 min til they read 160 on a meat thermometer). The meat mixture was a little wet/sloppy and I was concerned when forming the muffins, but they turned out perfectly. If you enjoy BBQish tasting things, try this for sure! THANK YOU for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Excellent! I doubled this recipe and used 1lb of ground pork to replce part of the beef. I did have to take the foil off the top about halfway through because my bacon wasn't browning. It still wasn't crisp by the end time (which was right on for the meatloaf), so I browned it under the broiler for a few minutes. I made some of 'that sauce' on the side in case people missed it. My guys approved!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
My whole family loved it! The barbecue sauce really makes a difference, I will add more next time. I took off the foil and broiled it for a minute or so to brown the hamburger and it was perfect !!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
My husband approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States