Guy Approved Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This just replaced our favorite meatloaf recipe. OMG, this was excellent. I didn't find any of the flavors overpowering (I did use a bit less liquid smoke but otherwise followed recipe). Did need to uncover and put on top rack of oven for the last half hour to thoroughly cook bacon. I was concerned it would dry out---not at all, and the crispy ends were everyone's favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I have many very good meatloaf recipes. This was good, not very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I used seasoned bread crumbs in place of crackers, used closer to a cup of BBQ sauce and put more on top under the bacon. I also used more seasonings (as I always do) and used dehydrated onion as I was out of fresh. My husband loves my meatloaf but he loved this as well. He said it was a pleasant change and said he would like this made again. I loved it as well. I served with mashed potatoes and whole kernel corn. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I really liked this recipe, but I'd probably change it a little the next time I make it. The liquid smoke taste seemed a bit heavier than I liked, so I'll probably eliminate it or put less in next time. Also, if you cover the meatloaf with foil, the bacon won't cook very well, so you might want to uncover it the last 1/2 hour or so to make sure it cooks thoroughly. I just laid the foil over the top and it wasn't cooked, so I had to broil it for 5-10 minutes after the rest of it was cooked just to get the bacon to brown. I will definitely be making this recipe again though, we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Too bad there are only 5 stars available!!! My hubby & I LOVED this recipe!!! Substituted cayenne 0epper with red pepper flakes, as I was out of cayenne. Still came out wonderful!!! I'll never make meatloaf any other way again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I think I would use catsup (ketchup?) instead of barb. sauce. It was a bit too strong to suit me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
John didn't rave about it, but I liked it. Easy to make despite all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
WOW! My girlfriend finally let me make meatloaf for her. I made this recipe as listed and used Brooks Bros. BBQ sauce. It came out AWESOME! And since it met her approval as well, this meatlof is officially CHICK APPROVED too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Yum! I made them into mini meatloaves in a cupcake pan, so they only took about 40 min to bake. My hubby LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Sorry, WAY too salty. With 1 cup of potato chips, 1 teaspoon of salt and bacon on top, that's all I could taste was the salt. I even used bread crumbs instead of crushed crackers. If I had used saltines, I'd probably be in the e-room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States